HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 15, 2006, 02:51 AM
Semper Fly--Pro-Bro #2095
Greenville, S.C.
Joined Dec 2004
480 Posts
Discussion
After-Run oil, maintenance, etc...

Just sent my saito .72 four stroker to hobby lobby. THey are saying that its rust laden,the bearings are rusted and hence, the reason I sent it, the valve was stuck open and no compression. I bought it used, in a used UCando from a good guy at work. He said that he had the bearings replaced a while back in it. This is my first time so Its no big deal. 95 bucks for that and labor, and I needed a new cam I think he said on my messages. Anyways, whats the best after run oil. I've been using the miracle(murphy's???)...the usual that you can get at lowes and what not. Are there better things to get? And what Other types of general things can I do to keep the engine in top shape. I'm not the monkey wrench type. So I'm talking simple things.
Merkaba is offline Find More Posts by Merkaba
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 15, 2006, 03:07 AM
What goes up must come down
USA, GA, Snellville
Joined Oct 2005
218 Posts
Any ATF (Automatic Transmission Fluid)will work well also. and at a few bucks a quart it will last for quite some time.

HTH

JIM
jfacky is offline Find More Posts by jfacky
Old Feb 15, 2006, 10:01 AM
S.A.D. member
United States, TX, Round Rock
Joined Dec 2004
9,388 Posts
After the last flight of the day - start the engine bring it to WOT and pinch the fuel line going to the carb until the engine stops. Defuel the plane. Attempt to start the engine with the glow driver attached. Do it until the engine do not fire at all. If you're not going to fly that plane for more than a week apply ARO. Apply the ARO through the carb on a 2-stroke engine, use the crankcase vent line (connected to the crankcase breather nipple) on a 4-stroke.

Ivan
ivanc is offline Find More Posts by ivanc
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 16, 2006, 05:34 AM
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Joined Sep 2003
508 Posts