Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 09, 2006, 02:49 PM
Registered User
Tenerife,Canary Islands
Joined May 2004
1,667 Posts
Is there any trick as heating it to bring back the gloss to the elapor after sanding?

Heating slightly works on depron .
chichisport is offline Find More Posts by chichisport
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 09, 2006, 02:56 PM
Registered User
TexasFlyer's Avatar
Houston, TX
Joined Sep 2005
1,015 Posts
Good question, Chichisport. I was just watching Derk's 2nd video (again) where I think he was flying Pjotrrr's plane. It appears to be very smooth with a satin gloss. Also, the canopy is pure black with none of the usual "foam" shapes underneath.

Pjotrrr - Is that your plane? Can you give us tips on how you got that nice silky finish and solid canopy color?

Thanks,

Alan
TexasFlyer is online now Find More Posts by TexasFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2006, 04:07 PM
Hitec/Multiplex USA
San Diego
Joined Dec 2005
156 Posts
Although it is hard to tell from the attached pics, from my experience as long as you do not oversand it doesn't start appearing dull. I sand everything with 400 grit and of all the guys here I am the only one that sanded the mold marks off their AcroMaster. On the canopy I used Rustoleum Gloss black applied in light coats.

You also can't tell from the pics I cartwheeled the AcroMaster down the runway
sspiker is offline Find More Posts by sspiker
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2006, 04:21 PM
Registered User
Tenerife,Canary Islands
Joined May 2004
1,667 Posts
Now I remember that I´ve got a spare X-twin to practice finishing techniques in epp foam.
chichisport is offline Find More Posts by chichisport
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2006, 07:20 PM
Registered User
TexasFlyer's Avatar
Houston, TX
Joined Sep 2005
1,015 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspiker
I sand everything with 400 grit
sspiker,

Just to clarify, do you literally sand the entire plane (Elapor parts, that is) for an even look, or do you just sand around the actual mold marks off?

Alan
TexasFlyer is online now Find More Posts by TexasFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 01:39 PM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,757 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspiker
...
I sand everything with 400 grit and of all the guys here I am the only one that sanded the mold marks off their AcroMaster.
...
You are not alone :
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=310

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: InterModellBau 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 01:47 PM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,757 Posts
And don't use Krylon Camouflage Spray Paint for the Canopy :
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: InterModellBau 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 02:14 PM
Hitec/Multiplex USA
San Diego
Joined Dec 2005
156 Posts
I lightly sand the entire model simply because the bumps are so close together...If a crease develops in the paper it can leave a tiny gouge so I change the paper often.

As far as the spray paint it seems the propellant actually attacks the foam so I keep the can as far back as possible for the first couple coats. This has worked well for all my Multiplex planes.
sspiker is offline Find More Posts by sspiker
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 05:39 PM
Registered User
Tenerife,Canary Islands
Joined May 2004
1,667 Posts
But the damage is not that bad , turbulated canopy
chichisport is offline Find More Posts by chichisport
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 05:40 PM
Registered User
Tenerife,Canary Islands
Joined May 2004
1,667 Posts
Jurgen , do you use the mpx primmer or tamiya directly?
chichisport is offline Find More Posts by chichisport
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 11:38 PM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,757 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chichisport
Jurgen , do you use the mpx primmer or tamiya directly?
No need for primer. I have used the Tamiya paint on many Elapor canopies before.

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: InterModellBau 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 03:23 AM
Registered User
Tenerife,Canary Islands
Joined May 2004
1,667 Posts
Great .
chichisport is offline Find More Posts by chichisport
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 09:41 AM
Registered User
belgium
Joined Aug 2006
69 Posts
hi i am new here
if my english isn't very well, then i excuse me becaus i am 15 years old and from belgium :P
i am flying an mpx easystar, minimag and i just bought a mpx acromaster with the himax power set.

now i read somthing about the motormount, that it aint very well if you glue it with CA, well i was wondering can i use UHU POR ore isn't it a good glue?
and what do you guys think about that himax set? how much is his trust actually?

well nice to be a member here to :P now i have to watch 2 forums (modelbouwforum.nl and rcgroups :P)

greets, sam
samuel s. is offline Find More Posts by samuel s.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 10:51 AM
Hitec/Multiplex USA
MikeMayberry's Avatar
Poway, California, United States
Joined Sep 2000
4,190 Posts
There has only been one reported failure with the motor mount so I would not worry about that. I don't know about the glue you refer to, but I used CA for mine and it's showing no signs of stress.

The Himax power set is best matched with a 3S 2100mah lipo (16C+) for the best performance. It is an excellent motor and has shown no signs of overheating even in hard flying.

Mike.
MikeMayberry is offline Find More Posts by MikeMayberry
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 11:24 AM
Registered User
belgium
Joined Aug 2006
69 Posts
ohw very nice, i am going to fly with a 3s 2100mah 16c and 3s 2250mah between 16c and 20c
but i thing i am going to glue the mount with uhu por
anyway, thanks makemayberry!

greetings
samuel s. is offline Find More Posts by samuel s.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Extremeflight Extra vs Multiplex Acro Master Magna 3D Flying 17 Dec 10, 2008 01:11 AM
For Sale Multiplex Acro Master RTF slopenutz Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Jul 13, 2007 04:12 PM
Sold Multiplex Acro Master termite Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Mar 20, 2007 05:04 PM
Link Multiplex Acro Master $99.99 Doubletap Hot Online Deals 6 Dec 18, 2006 03:37 PM
New Multiplex 4 Engine Cargo with speed control !!!! Looks like a B-17 Joe Pierson Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 06, 2001 01:48 AM