HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 30, 2006, 10:30 PM
Hold my beer.....
Fredericksburg, TX
Joined Aug 2005
963 Posts
Question
So how do you break into the miniature helicopter business?

Let me start off with a little background about myself. I am 22 years old, and have been going to airshows before I could walk. My dad has been an FAA IA for over 30 years, and an A&P for longer than that, I put myself through college (IT degree) working full-time as an A&P apprentice - had plenty of training from my dad. Him and I used to perform the maint. on the channel 42 news heli based in Austin, Tx (Enstrom 280), I have helped take care of a DC-3, Convair 340, T-28, L-39, I even honest-to-god have performed sheet metal repair on a MiL-24D Hind gunship! And then there's all the little Cessna's and Pipers, even rebuilt a Cub.

I am currently working as a CNC machinist, I make parts for any industry you could possible imagine, even for some rc aircraft/heli manufacturers. I do enjoy what I do, but I am only truly happy when I am designing/prototyping something - especially helicopter stuff. Most of you know that I am currently developing a 4-bladed, flybarless rotorhead for the Trex - to be used as a small portable AP platform. I plan on applying this design to larger helis such as the Swift.

I find myself at work working extra fast to get my normal duties finished so I can sit down with Solidworks or even just a pencil and paper to design my newest component or figure out a problem. I have been reading books, studying other's designs, and even examining full-size helis - I live and breath this stuff!