HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 27, 2006, 12:46 PM
Intermediate Pilot
Chapel Hill, NC
Joined Dec 2005
338 Posts
Question
2nd outdoor flight, helicopter caught in wind/thermal?

Hi all,

Today has been the 2nd time I've flown a helicopter outdoors. Been flying since Christmas day, I got a Lama 2, and last week I finished building up a X400. I've test flown it inside a garage about 6-7 times, and I have hover and hover movement worked out.

Everything has gone well outside, although the rate of climb on the helicopter isn't that great right now (400DH motor is probably to blame). I get about 11 minutes of flight time on a 2100mAh battery pack.

Here's the question part: As I am a beginner, I have set up a fairly conservative pitch curve, and I'm flying with a CC35 in governor mode at about 2200 RPM. My pitch curve only has a very small bit of negative pitch at the bottom, and at mid stick, already has several degrees of positive dialed in. Still, hovering doesn't occur till I'm in the top portion of the stick.

I was flying around the big back yard, doing fine, and then I decided, hey, no ceiling! Let's fly a bit higher! I ascended to approximately 30 or 40 feet. Winds are calm to very low, and today is around 45-50 degrees and sunny.

All of a sudden, there was a LOT of additional lift on the helicopter. Even pulling the throttle WAY back (but I don't think I pulled it completely) the model was still climbing. Then, after a couple of seconds all of a sudden it started dropping of course, and I had to put in lots of throttle to keep it coming down at an alarming rate. I went through this for what seemed like eternity, attempting to bring the heli down at a controlled rate, cause it was really high now, almost higher than the tallest trees in my yard, and that's pretty high. I was getting really nervous and actually thought I was going to get disoriented and stuff it.