SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 17, 2006, 11:33 PM
Texas
Joined Jan 2006
4 Posts
Discussion
Williams Brothers Model Products are coming back!

Hello all, yes, the products are coming back! If the admin allows, I will give you a short version of the press release, as seen in some of the magazines of late, and some background. Williams Bros, Inc closed their doors in December of 2004. The late Grainger's wife was no longer able to keep it running. I aquired the assets of the company, along with the name and rights, in March, and incorporated a new company in April of 2005 and created Williams Brothers Model Products (to preserve the name brand), under the corporation of Brett Industries, Inc in the state of Texas (There were too many Williams Brothers names in use in Texas- landscape, stores, etc). I quit a 12+ year career in semiconductor equipment manufacturing to do this, because it needed doin'. I am a modeler myself, and used their products quite a bit. So, I have spent the rest of 2005 moving all the equipment, and about 1000 boxes I packed, on 3 semi's to Taylor, Texas; then, setting up the factory, putting in infrastructure, and prepping the business to run. Production, and my learning curve, started in August. I never injected plastic before, but I figure semi equipment has about - no kidding- 10,000+ constants to tune the machine, and these plastic machines have about 50 knobs, so I can figure it out. So, after a couple of months of practice, reading, talking, we started really making parts, and actually starting to improve the products a bit. Every mold is a surprise waiting for me, so it's going to take a bit of time on the first run through, but we tackle them as they come. I'm fixing molds that need fixing, or at least putting their faults on a list for future improvements. As of now, we have produced all the guns, and all of the pilots, many of the cylinders, and some of the wheels. We're still in the start up mode, and t