HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 10, 2002, 01:07 AM
Beaverton Oregon
Joined Feb 2002
17 Posts
Firebird XL

Hello, I'm new to parkflying and would like your take on the firebird xl. I've heard it was a great beginner plane and I'm a beginner. Also, do you guys have any other suggestions? Thank you for your time.
-Dustin
Dustin_v16 is offline Find More Posts by Dustin_v16
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 10, 2002, 01:26 AM
Live to ride... and fly!
Forney, TX
Joined Mar 2002
15,165 Posts
Hello Dustin-

Welcome to the group!

If you are planning on teaching yourself how to fly, any of the crop of 2 channel flyers (one channel- throttle, one channel- rudder: left/right) are the best way to get your feet wet. The Firebird XL, the E-gull or the Firebird 2 would serve you well starting out. If and when you upgrade, you will not be able to reuse any of the gear from any of these planes though. However, they are still a good deal at less than 100 bucks considering they come with everything you need to get in the air.

There's a new plane along the same lines as these that is a 3 channel (also has elevator: up/down control) called the T-hawk. So far it's gotten good reviews, it's downfall being that it has motor on/off instead of a true throttle. However it is available without radio gear, you can spend another 85 bucks and get "real" gear elsewhere to use on it that you could use on future planes as well.

Also take a look at the Hobby Lobby web site, they have lots of foam beginner planes that will get you in the air quick, use reusable conventional radio gear and are easy to repair if you crash.

Good luck!
Tres Wright is offline Find More Posts by Tres Wright
Last edited by Tres Wright; Jun 10, 2002 at 01:28 AM.
Old Jun 10, 2002, 03:08 AM
Beaverton Oregon
Joined Feb 2002
17 Posts
thank you

Hey thanks Tres,