HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 08, 2006, 08:29 AM
Joined Jan 2006
5 Posts
Question
Dumas PT 109

As a newcomer to this forum, (and to forums generally), please excuse any lack of forum etiquette, should I inadvertently become guilty of it.
I was fortunate enough to receive for Christmas a kit of Dumas' PT 109. While not a complete novice at model boat building, this will be my first "running" model. My question has to do with the selection of engine(s). I would prefer to stick as close as possible to the historical configuration, which would call for three engines. This seems impractical for this size of model. However, I do have two 5.5v motors (manufacturer unknown - presumabley the Asian area). Does anyone have any experience with the installation of two power plants in this model (or similar)? I would be particularly interested in some discussion on the appropriate ESC, batteries, whether one or two rudders are required, whether I should have props counter-rotate in relationship to each other (and if so, how best to achieve that), and so forth.

Many thanks in advance for sharing your expertise...
38special is offline Find More Posts by 38special
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 08, 2006, 09:56 AM
KC8WPF
Euclid, Ohio, United States
Joined Sep 2004
3,764 Posts
Look at my posts (#7 shows motor install) in this PT Boat thread. I scratch built the PT 188 at 1/32 scale. I have two MACK #3150 motors in the boat. The boat runs about 30 minutes on a single 7.2V 3000mAh NiMh battery. I installed two rudders, the rudder servo is near the stern. I am using counter rotating props, Octura 427's or 430's. You dob't need to have counter rotating props. The full size PT boats had three right hand pitch props - they all turned they same direction.