SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 30, 2005, 12:46 AM
Buyin', Tryin' and Flyin'
DFW, Texas
Joined Jan 2005
2,283 Posts
Cool
Spektrumizing a JR6102 with a DX6 Radio

Well, since I had two DX6 units, and only needed one, and I'm an engineer (which means I like to make stuff "better" ), and it was too dark to fly, I decided to test a theory I had been pondering for the past week or so. I had opened both my JR6102 (a very nice, inexpensive, fairly fully-featured six-channel unit) and my DX6 to look around. Both cases are basically the same (no surprise, since JR builds the units, then ships them to Spektrum who installs the radio).

I had theorized that since both radio boards in the units had only three wires going to them, and that one had to be power, one had to be ground, so the remaining one was signal. I had further guessed, since this unit is so inexpensive given it's newness, that perhaps nothing had changed in the data stream that was actually sent to the receiver. This makes sense since it is just a series of pules, which would have to be sent anyway, and THAT part has always worked fine in the 72Mhz and other RC worlds (i.e. - why reinvent the part of the wheel that works).

If the above was true, then the only new part would be the actual conversion of the signal to a 2.4Ghz stream, and ALL of that is handled by the Cypress PRoC chip when you bind the DX6 TX to the AR6000 receiver, and upon subsequent powerups.

Soooooooo, I bit the bullet and cut the three little wires in the DX6 radio board, removed it, and it fits perfectly in the JR6102. I could always solder it back if it did not work (unless I fried it in the process ). I soldered it in, removed the DX6 antenna and pluged it into the board now in the 6102 (which of course involved removing it from the DX6, blah, blah, blah), and powered it up...

...and...

IT WORKED PERFECTLY!!! I had full control of all six channels on the receiver!!!