HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 23, 2005, 09:47 PM
Granby, CT, USA
Joined Jan 2001
939 Posts
Discussion
Coverite Gee Bee Model E Sportster e-power conversion

A friend of mine has a notion to power his now-framed-up Sportster with an Astro 40 he has, never used the motor for anything. Also discussed the possibility of direct drive. While I've conversationally rambled around the topic with him, I have no experience with that size model or that motor that could be used for advice.

I noticed this model mentioned in the thread on the Art Chester Jeep conversion, but I didn't want to break in with this 'me, too, please' query.

So...I think trying to address these questions might help: (1) what sort of watts/lb do we want for this not-particularly-light glow model, (2) gearing/propeller suggestions, (3) comments on direct drive in this particular application. Considering the expen$e of high-capacity LiPo cells, let's assume that this aircraft will be drawing its current from a NiMh battery.

Thanks, folks.
PeterH is offline Find More Posts by PeterH
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 24, 2005, 11:04 AM
United States, CA, Garden Grove
Joined Oct 2000
11,743 Posts
My Advice FWIW

I have the .40 glow powered version of this model. If built as-designed with heavy fabric covering, priming and painting, a sport .40 2 stroke engine had just enough power to fly the thing in a scale-like non-aerobatic manner. forget loops! My Enya .46 4 stroke was very marginal which led to it's first crash.

Anything you can do to significantly reduce overall weight would improve this model's flying ability as an electric conversion. It's a flying lumberyard. Obviously a large brushless outrunner and expensive Lipo pack would be the easiest way to cut weight and get enjoyable performance and duration. You would need to locate the lipo pack and everything else as far forward as possible and minimize weight in the tail.You might still need to add weight in the nose