Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Dec 23, 2005, 08:38 PM
Joined Dec 2005
915 Posts
Discussion
Foam Types

Ayyyyyyyyyyyyyy

I'm new here and I have probably a silly question but are there any links to an explanation of the different foams used for these planes. It seems very confusing for me as I have never used it before.

Blue cor, depron, epp etc ?????????

Thanks for the help

The Fonz--------Ayyyyyyyyyyyy
The Fonz is offline Find More Posts by The Fonz
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 23, 2005, 11:23 PM
Livermore, CA
Joined Sep 2004
8,575 Posts
Theres tons of info on foam here. Just put in the foam type in the search and it will pull it up for you. Butch
Butch777 is offline Find More Posts by Butch777
Old Dec 23, 2005, 11:38 PM
Use the Force!
San Marcos, CA
Joined Jan 2005
2,179 Posts
There are 5 or 6 types of foam used in airplane construction. Most of them were originally designed to be used in the building industry as insulation in one form or another.

BlueCor is made by Dow Chemical Company. It is an extruded polystyrene type foam. It is 6mm thick, and has a thin plastic skin on each side, similar to onion skin. The skin really stiffens up the foam, and prevents it from flexing. The down side to BlueCor is the fact that it has waves in the surface that are about 3 inches apart that protrude up about 1/8" from peak to valley. It also has a pinhole diamond shaped pattern to it with small 1/32" holes on a 3/4" size grid pattern. It is designed to be used as an underlayment for aluminum siding, and comed in 4 foot by 50 foot pieces that are accordian folded into 25 sheets that are 2' x 4' each. At around $35.00 per bundle, the cost per square foot is 17.5 cents.

Owens Corning makes a very similar product that is pink in color, it is also about 6mm thick and has just about the same properties as BlueCor, but is a little heavier. The price is similar to BlueCor