HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 29, 2002, 03:12 PM
Los Altos, CA
Joined Sep 2001
607 Posts
Schreiner F-18 Project - Part #2

I am getting close to completion on the Schreiner F-18 project. The only things remaining to do, are securing the canopy, balancing the plane and reinforcing my battery box to I can be 100% sure those 5 pounds of batteries won't come loose in-flight.

If all goes well, I will be attempting the first flight of this bird this coming Saturday, June 1st. I normally fly at Rancho San Antonio Park, however, the Tomcat field in San Jose is having an electric fly-in on Saturday. They have a nice, big, paved runway, so it will be a perfect opportunity for the test flight. I know alot of you have ancitipated the flight of it for quite some time. I have been talking about it non-stop for the last 6 months as I built it.

Anyway, if you want to see it fly, show up at Tomcat's on Saturday. More information about the fly-in can be found on their website at: http://www.sccmas.org

No matter what, even it is not ready in time for the flight on Saturday, I will bring the plane with me, so all the RSA flyers can check it out in-person.

Thanks again to Gordon "Plane Crazy", and Joe "UncleJoe" for all their help getting this moster bug together. I would have torn my hair out without your guys help and support.

Here are latest pics, I just shot today.

- Ted
TedLarson is offline Find More Posts by TedLarson
to remove ads between posts
Old May 29, 2002, 03:25 PM
Los Altos, CA
Joined Sep 2001
607 Posts
Here are some shots of the inside, when I was installing the Schubeler fans. Joe, you will be happy to know, that I went for a similar mounting scheme you went for, although I am not quite the lite-ply master you are...;-) You can see my 1/16th in fan saddles in one of the photos.