SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 18, 2005, 01:47 AM
USA, TX, Diana
Joined Aug 2005
270 Posts
Top Flite Contender

I have just started the build on a Top Flite Contender. 63" wingspan. Will be
powered with a .61 OS FX. The Contender kit was first introduced in 1969, and was and is considered a very nice flying sport plane.

I am just learning to fly (buddy box style) with a Hangar 9 Alpha 60, so it
will be a while before I can handle this one. It has been 45 years since I built
my last balsa and silk control line plane, so this is going to be interesting.

I got the pcs. for the horizontal stabilizer and elevators cut today. Will glue tomorrow. I can only work on this as time permits. Trying to hold down 1 regular job and a business on the side. Be patient, feel free to offer tips or constructive criticism.

Thanks
Jim
AMA 821369
safebet is offline Find More Posts by safebet
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 22, 2005, 10:33 AM
USA, TX, Diana
Joined Aug 2005
270 Posts
Top Flite Contender Build

Here is a pic of progress, so far. I changed the rudder configuration from the plans. I straightened out the trailing edge of the rudder. I have the wing plans on the build table as seen in the pic. I am going to start laying out the ribs, etc. tomorrow.

Jim
Diana, Texas
AMA 821369
Old Nov 22, 2005, 04:11 PM
United States, MI, Monroe
Joined Mar 2000
861 Posts
Are you going to make a bent wing? They fly Soooooo good.
I have had 4 Contenders 60's . The last one I made had a bent wing and flaps, With a ST.75 It was great . When I lost it there was no more kit out there. I think I will get one to have for old times. Take the rudder and make a new one . Like 4" at the bottom and 2 1/2 " at top this will work much better.

Kevin Matney is online now Find More Posts by Kevin Matney
Old Nov 23, 2005, 02:09 AM
USA, TX, Diana
Joined Aug 2005
270 Posts