SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 17, 2005, 03:14 PM
Racer78Bu
racer78bu's Avatar
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Joined Jun 2004
204 Posts
Jason M. Help with new eflite power .46 setup advise

Hey I was hoping for some input on my new power .46 eflite motor. I have a phoenix 45 and some 15c tronics 3cell 2100 packs. I am building a large foam 3d plane (80in ws "sorta" shocklfyer) and need some advise on this motor. I was hoping for the plane to come out under or right at 5 lbs. Has anybody tested a 3 cell setup on this motor for about 500 watts power. I know I will need to at least get some 4cell packs for this thing to be a true 3d'er but I would like to try flying it with my 3 cells if its even a possibility.

Will my phoenix 45 work?
What prop for 3 cell operation?

Keep in mind this is a blucore foam extra @80inches its draggy and light for its size so I can use thrust even at a lower prop speed than "real" plane of this size. Oh and I took plenty of pics of the build so far I will post some as soon as I can see this as a reality and this motor helps that alot.

Thanks
Chris
racer78bu is offline Find More Posts by racer78bu
Last edited by racer78bu; Nov 17, 2005 at 08:34 PM. Reason: forgot to mention jason m in title
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 18, 2005, 09:55 PM
Rhinebeck CD-99,00,01,02
Tom Smith's Avatar
New Bern, NC
Joined Mar 2001
3,022 Posts
E Flite 46

I too am interested in this motor on 3s packs. I need the weight and power of this size motor in the nose of my Horizon Hobbies Ultra Stick 40, but hate to buy new 4s packs when I already have a few 3s 4200mah packs. What say yee. Tom
Tom Smith is offline Find More Posts by Tom Smith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2005, 05:52 AM
Racer78Bu
racer78bu's Avatar
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Joined Jun 2004
204 Posts
I pm'd Jason M from Horizon and will post the answer he gives me. I will bum some props and test it myself also.

Chris
racer78bu is offline Find More Posts by racer78bu
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2005, 08:15 AM
Rhinebeck CD-99,00,01,02
Tom Smith's Avatar
New Bern, NC
Joined Mar 2001
3,022 Posts
Chris

Thanks Chris. Keep me posted. Tom
Tom Smith is offline Find More Posts by Tom Smith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2005, 11:15 AM
AKA BillyKillaWatt
Billy Haynes's Avatar
Rockwell, NC
Joined Jan 2002
1,035 Posts
I don't own a Power 46, but do have a Power 60 and been play'n round with it. I think 3s would be too little voltage. You would have to run a huge prop to get any use out of it. I think the motor is pretty close to the AXI 4120/18 (which I own 2 of). AXI 4120/18 KV 500, Power 46 KV 400. I had one of my AXI's on an ultra stick. 6s2p 4900's, 13x10apcE. This set up is pushing the limits of the PHX60 and AXI, Full throttle had to be used in burst, but it did work. This was awesome power in the stick. I actually flew the plane apart in a snap. Most of the flight was just over half throttle with full throttle only used when needed (which is how an aerobatic or 3d plane should be set up). I think 4s would be a min, 5s great, 6s awesome with a careful setup and proper throttle management, at the cost of more weight though(but I think I'd try 5s on a big foamy). Do you know anyone you could borrow a 5s pack from? I've also found the recommendations in the EFlight manual was pretty accurate. I'm sure they have 3d set up listed in the Power 46 manual, I'd say start there.
Billy Haynes is offline Find More Posts by Billy Haynes
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2005, 03:17 PM
Racer78Bu
racer78bu's Avatar
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Joined Jun 2004
204 Posts
Thanks for the input so far. My .46 has a KV of 670 which is pretty high for a motor of that size which had me hoping for a nice light 3cell setup. I know I was going to need the big packs for it to be ballistic but just for the sake of flying I was wondering about a 3 cell setup.

I had noticed the thread for the 4120 on 3 cells and it got me thinking.

I was going to test it out before I went to the field. Just would like to nail down a general prop size to keep from buying a bunch of 9.00 props I'll never be able to use.
This big foamy mess might be a waste of time so if it doesnt fly correctly I'll get me a GW E3d.

Thanks again
chris
racer78bu is offline Find More Posts by racer78bu
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2005, 03:33 PM
Rhinebeck CD-99,00,01,02
Tom Smith's Avatar
New Bern, NC
Joined Mar 2001
3,022 Posts
Link

Chris, do you have the link to that thread with the 4120 on 3s lipos. I would be interested in reading that. Buying the motor and the controller is bad enough, but then a new pack and a UBEC, Jeeeezzzzzz! Tom
Tom Smith is offline Find More Posts by Tom Smith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2005, 04:19 PM
Registered User
Ken Myers's Avatar
Commerce Township, MI
Joined Aug 2001
4,385 Posts
I believe this is it: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=439424

The AXI 4120/14 has a stated RPM/v of 660 and is said to weigh 11.3 oz.
Ken Myers is offline Find More Posts by Ken Myers
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2005, 06:12 PM
AKA BillyKillaWatt
Billy Haynes's Avatar
Rockwell, NC
Joined Jan 2002
1,035 Posts
Ooooooo.......
Chris, I was thinking you had the 400kv one My bad.
with 670kv I think I'd still try a 4s though. The weight difference between a 3s-4s isn't that much for this size of a plane in my opinion.
Billy Haynes is offline Find More Posts by Billy Haynes
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2005, 04:31 PM
Registered User
Michigan
Joined Oct 2001
199 Posts
power 46

I have the 46 on a Freedom 3D, real close to a Banchee...about 4 lbs and I went to test fly it today on 3s2p but had a bad aielron servo so never got off the ground. I did put it on the watt meter and was only drawing 27amps and 300watts with a older Appogee 3s2p pack...but I too have more 3cell packs than 4s packs...I think 3s will be ok for sport flying, and thats ok, but I think I will have to go to 4s packs for 3D performance...I also put a 5s pack on the watt meter (16x10 APC by the way) and the current draw was way up to around 67amps...to much and no room in the batt compartment for 5s anyway. Also, any larger prop diameter on the Freedom and I would have clearence problems so I guess some 4s packs will have to be bought...I like the new 20c PolyQuests from Hobby Lobby. 8^)

Ron
Flatspin is offline Find More Posts by Flatspin
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2005, 07:07 PM
Rhinebeck CD-99,00,01,02
Tom Smith's Avatar
New Bern, NC
Joined Mar 2001
3,022 Posts
Ron

What prop were you using when you got 27 amps. My Ultra Stick 40 ARF can swing a 13" without clearance problems, If I could get 400 watts out of a 3s 2p 4200 pack and a 13X? prop I would be happy. Can anyone "Calc" this setup and see what a 13x10 or so would pull in amps and produce in watts. I just want to sport fly the darn thing. Tom
Tom Smith is offline Find More Posts by Tom Smith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2005, 08:12 PM
Registered User
Michigan
Joined Oct 2001
199 Posts
I thought it was a 16x10 Tom but it was a 16x8 apc...so this means I could try a 17x10 I have and draw a few more amps but I dont think a 18" prop will do anything but cut the grass. When I get a new servo on the aeilron I'll fly it and let you know...probably Wednesday on my day off if the weather allows. It's too dark by the time I get off work or I would try it then. I wish they would just leave the time alone!

Ron
Flatspin is offline Find More Posts by Flatspin
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2005, 07:03 AM
Racer78Bu
racer78bu's Avatar
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Joined Jun 2004
204 Posts
I have a 18x10 and will try to get some 3 cell numbers on it today. I'll have enough clearance for it if it works.
My foamy is huge the wingspan right now is 96inches but that was just because I had to use 2 sheets anyway and I didnt know how heavy it was going to turn out for wing loading. Fuse is 72inches without the rudder. I am going to cut the wing down to about 80 somthing to look scale'ish

Its just a fun experiment to see the look on the gas guys at the flying field when i show up with a nearly 1/4 foam extra 300 that'll hang on the prop with electric power. Already shopping for 4cells but would like to fly with 3 also for just general sport flying

Chris
racer78bu is offline Find More Posts by racer78bu
Last edited by racer78bu; Nov 21, 2005 at 07:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2005, 07:20 AM
Racer78Bu
racer78bu's Avatar
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Joined Jun 2004
204 Posts
For batteries dont leave out maxamps.com; they give a discount if you join their mailing list. Those tronics cells rock. I picked up a couple of 2100 15c 3cells from vinnie at justgofly and man nearly no voltage drop when you load them up. The price is hard to beat.
racer78bu is offline Find More Posts by racer78bu
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2005, 12:58 PM
Racer78Bu
racer78bu's Avatar
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Joined Jun 2004
204 Posts
Ran up the .48 with a 3cell 2p 4200mah measuring 12.67 volts on the wattmeter using a 18x10 apc prop resulted in 59 amps batteries cool and motor and phoenix 45 were slightly warm.

The thrust it was putting out was impressive cleaned off my table nicely .

Flatspin did you have a chance to try the 17x10 yet?

Chris
racer78bu is offline Find More Posts by racer78bu
Last edited by racer78bu; Nov 22, 2005 at 01:04 PM. Reason: forgot to ask flatspin a question
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Eflite power-46 and Dynam 70A ESC mcharles13 Power Systems 7 May 31, 2007 10:03 PM
Discussion Banshee E-3d w/Eflite power .46 racer78bu 3D Flying 12 Oct 15, 2006 11:29 PM
For Sale Eflite power 46 T_MECO Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 1 Oct 08, 2006 09:43 AM
Question Anyone use the Eflite power 46 on 6S? dogon1013 Power Systems 0 May 09, 2006 07:22 PM
New - EFlite Power Meter Futurase Power Systems 1 Jun 19, 2005 12:43 AM