HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 14, 2005, 06:35 PM
Registered User
Danbury, CT
Joined Jun 2005
1,298 Posts
Does any pull start motor fit in the SF501?

I am looking at getting a SF501(i swear you guys are killing my wallet). My question is can I fit one of my HPI 12RSS or 18SS motors in it? I know it comes with a motor but I think the HPIs I have would have a little more power. Plus I would imagin I could sell the brand new motor that comes with it the kit.
^jynx^ is offline Find More Posts by ^jynx^
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 14, 2005, 06:48 PM
kun114
kun114's Avatar
Westminster, MD USA
Joined Apr 2005
652 Posts
The HPI .12 should go in, but you may have to use the optional engine mounts. The bolt pattern on the HPI pullstart might be different. You may have to do some trimming on the head of the .18 if you go that route. I have an OS .18 in one of my bikes and I had to trim the bottom and side of the head.
kun114 is offline Find More Posts by kun114
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2005, 09:51 PM
Registered User
Australia
Joined Sep 2003
485 Posts
Like kun114 said, if you go with the optional engine mounts, it should open up a whole range of possible engine sources. I've dropped a Force 12 in my NF, the only mod required to the chassis was trimming out the left side plate to clear the bolt mounts on the pull starter.

I'll post a pic later (at work right now). Best thing about it, if you snapped the cord in the pull start, you don't need to strip the bike down to get to the pull start, makes maintenance VERY easy.

Pat

Bit more info:

The crankshaft had to be shortened by about 6mm, so I had to disassembled the engine, and trimmed it down using a cut off disc, and dressed it off using a bench mounted grinder. (It wasn't an SG shaft, just threaded about 15mm long originally)

I left the aluminium drive washer off completly to allow the NF flywheel to take it's place and end up closer to the carb.

Pat
pat1967 is offline Find More Posts by pat1967
Last edited by pat1967; Nov 15, 2005 at 04:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2005, 06:33 AM
kun114
kun114's Avatar
Westminster, MD USA
Joined Apr 2005
652 Posts
Hey Pat,
I would love to see a pic with your linkage all set-up. I'd like to do the same with one of my carbs. Just don't know if its worth the hassle. Those engine mounts you have look pretty sweet. You should start selling those also.
kun114 is offline Find More Posts by kun114
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2005, 06:45 AM
Registered User
Danbury, CT
Joined Jun 2005
1,298 Posts
thanks for all the help guys. Now to convince the wife I "need" a 5th bike.
^jynx^ is offline Find More Posts by ^jynx^
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2005, 07:23 AM
Registered User
Australia
Joined Sep 2003
485 Posts
Hey Kun114,

Here's some pics of the revised linkage/servo layout. As you can see I had to swap the servo's out too.

Pat
pat1967 is offline Find More Posts by pat1967
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert I'm very tempted: Will this motor fit in the T-rex 450? Silverstreak328 Mini Helis 52 Dec 28, 2004 02:22 PM
Will razor motor fit in crazymax gear box? witstick Foamies (Kits) 0 Jul 09, 2003 08:57 PM
Anyone have any data supporting motor break in? RPatrick Power Systems 13 Jul 19, 2002 02:25 AM