HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 14, 2005, 12:13 PM
Moncton, NB
Joined Aug 2005
155 Posts
How's this approach for selecting motor+prop?

As we're approaching winter, I realized I won't be able to use my histart in the cold temperatures. Winches seem like too much of a hassle, so I decided to install a motor in the Laser Arts Majestic sailplane I'm currently building.

I'm new to electric flight, so I tried to learn as much as I can on rcgroups. My education is in EE, but I've been mostly a programmer professionally. I can understand most of the technical jargon, but I'm certainly not an expert when it comes to motors.

I've downloaded MotoCalc to try to eliminate the guesswork in sizing the motor + prop. I'd like to run my selection approach by you guys to see if it makes sense.

Approach to follow in next message...
ecormier is offline Find More Posts by ecormier
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 14, 2005, 12:34 PM
rfb
Joined Jan 2004
55 Posts
Decide on a rate of climb you want and experient with different motor cell and prop combinations with MotoCalc. Use 100Watts / lb as a starting point, you can go up or down.
rfb is offline Find More Posts by rfb
Old Nov 14, 2005, 12:38 PM
Moncton, NB
Joined Aug 2005
155 Posts
Design goals:
A. Minimize the added weight to maintain low wing loading.
B. Maximize the number of "launches" per full battery charge.
C. Launch to 300ft in less than a minute, preferably around 30 seconds.

Approach using MotoCalc:
1. Enter my sailplane aerodynamic data
2. Pick a 3 cell LiPo battery pack for the best energy density.
3. Following the 50 to 100W per pound rule of thumb, I pick a motor that'll handle on the order of 200W.
4. Pick a gear ratio
5. Select a range of prop diameters and pitches that covers the range of props I can buy from my LHS plus a few other online shops.
6. Generate a static analysis report, for all of the diameter/pitch permutations. Save it as a csv file.