HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 28, 2005, 10:45 AM
Suspended Account
Bellevue, WA
Joined Feb 2004
2,083 Posts
What Motor for a Brian Taylor Hellcat??

I am starting to build a 64 inch wing span Brain Taylor Hellcat with flaps and retracts. I have been flying 90mm and 120mm EDFs for about 2 years now but I don't know anything about electric prop planes. I am looking for suggestions on a motor, perferably direct drive. I have 2 TP 5S4P ProLite packs and 2 TP 4S3P Gen2 packs. I can run either set of packs in series but to keep the weight down I would like to find a motor that uses one pack. I would like to fly formation with a couple buddies that are using the YS 110 on their 60 size warbirds. I would also like to be able to do a loop from level flight. Because the gear retracts back towards the trailing edge of the wing, a lot of ply is used for structual strength. Also, there is about 1.5 inches of space between the firewall and the leading edge of the wing so I am assuming a fair amount of nose weight will be neede to balance the plane on the CG. Because of this, I am guessing the weight to be in the 9 to 11 pound range. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kirk
k_sonn is offline Find More Posts by k_sonn
Last edited by k_sonn; Oct 28, 2005 at 11:01 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 28, 2005, 10:56 AM
TRP
United States, CA, Morgan Hill
Joined Jun 2002
3,687 Posts
What's the estimated weight of the BT F6F?
What's the wing area of the BT F6F?

Thanks
Ted
TRP is offline Find More Posts by TRP
Old Oct 28, 2005, 11:05 AM
Suspended Account
Bellevue, WA
Joined Feb 2004
2,083 Posts