HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 25, 2005, 06:30 PM
Crash Dummy!!!
bhenry's Avatar
Dallas Love, Texas, United States
Joined Jun 2004
327 Posts
CC25 cutoff problem - (yet another one!)

CC25 will only let me reach 12 amps.

Tried using 3S 1500 battery and it would cutoff at 75% trottle. Thought I was asking to much from the battery.
Bought a 3S 2100 15C battery and it is no better.

When I switch to soft cutoff my whattmeter shows 3amps and about 35 watts. The motor starts going crazy and will hardly run.

The volts is well above 11 volts and never goes below it.
Even when I use hard cutoff I see over 11 volts and only up to 12 amps.

CC25
Himax 2025-4200 66 gear
12x6 apc prop
Hitec 555 Rx


CC25 settings
1. 9.0v cuttoff (5)
2. standard (3)
3. soft delayed brake (1)
4. auto calibrating throttle (1)
5. Standard advance timing (2)
6. soft cutoff (2) (tried hard cutoff and works better but only 50-75%)
7. soft start (2)

(note: I sent my CC25 to CC to have the firmware updated last fall.)
bhenry is offline Find More Posts by bhenry
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 25, 2005, 07:53 PM
Registered User
Patrick del Castillo's Avatar
Olathe,KS,USA
Joined Oct 2000
2,651 Posts
Strange....

Have you tried setting the over-current to disabled? You might be drawing more amps than you thought.

Are you measuring the voltage when under load, or after?

Thanx!

Patrick
Patrick del Castillo is offline Find More Posts by Patrick del Castillo
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 08:08 PM
Crash Dummy!!!
bhenry's Avatar
Dallas Love, Texas, United States
Joined Jun 2004
327 Posts
I changed 2. Current Limiting from option (standard #3) to (Insensitive #4) and the problem goes away.

I ran it WOT and was able to pull 15 amps and 160 watts. It seemed to run smooth and produced the max throttle.

I was using the whattmeter and testing the battery underload. It never measured below 11 volts and is over 12 at rest.

Will it cause any problems leaving the Current Limiting at Insensitive?
bhenry is offline Find More Posts by bhenry
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 09:14 PM
Castle Tech
Joe Ford's Avatar
Olathe, KS
Joined Aug 2003
4,889 Posts
In short, no...as long as you know your system is within specs. Current limiting only keeps you from running too large of a prop or too much current.

Joe
Joe Ford is offline Find More Posts by Joe Ford
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 10:59 PM
Crash Dummy!!!
bhenry's Avatar
Dallas Love, Texas, United States
Joined Jun 2004
327 Posts
Thanks for the info.
Would this be in spec?

3 GWS Pico (std) servos
FMA Co Pilot (Operating Current < 10 milliamps)
Motor 15 amps 160 watts (max)
bhenry is offline Find More Posts by bhenry
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2005, 01:46 PM
Castle Tech
Joe Ford's Avatar
Olathe, KS
Joined Aug 2003
4,889 Posts
The FMA is going to put you over once you're in the air, BEC wise. Without that, you're fine.

Joe
Joe Ford is offline Find More Posts by Joe Ford
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion yet another one of my weird thoughts shock absorbers slo123 Micro Helis 9 Apr 12, 2007 10:58 AM
Discussion Balancing Question, Yet Another One bnflyn Batteries and Chargers 6 Feb 24, 2006 06:24 PM
I have another Problem Now this one with my Gyro kushal_22 Micro Helis 12 Nov 05, 2003 11:40 AM
Yet another Switchback Thread! Problem with wing warp Biggles604 Parkflyers 6 Jan 18, 2003 10:48 PM
yet another hornet problem new2heli Electric Heli Talk 5 Jun 24, 2001 10:52 PM