HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 25, 2005, 07:10 AM
Dodge City, KS
Joined Nov 2004
50 Posts
GWS Pico J3 Cub - F

Is there a thread for the GWS J3 Cub - F going. I have looked and found a few short threads with specific questions and answers, but is there something like the "Beaver" or SS threads?
I was looking for component/battery choices, advice and mods

Thanks!
Steve
smhall is offline Find More Posts by smhall
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 25, 2005, 01:21 PM
Mike
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Joined Nov 2004
540 Posts
I have some experience with these little birds.

If you are going to use the stock IPS motor STAY LIGHT. Don't paint it or use very much tape or stickers. Use 7 gram or less servos. I used GWS Picos and the GWS 4 ch RX. Don't waste your money on a 2 amp ESC get a 5 amp ESC.

Best battery pack I have found is 7 cells of 2/3 length 350 mil AAA nimh. 6 cells of 2/3 AA is a dog.

It is a much better outside plane with more power. I used the GWS dual IPS motor. They are only about $23. It draws about 3.8 amps on a 8x6 gws prop. The Fieago 12mm bushless motor would be perfect for this plane.

Like all GWS airplanes, Z bends on both ends of the push rods is a pain. Put Dubro mini-EZ connectors on the servo ends. Don't glue the control hors in place until you have threade the Z bend thru them and push the control rod into the fuse. If you glue them when the instructions say to do it you will be talking to yourself.

The wing struts have a plastic clevis on each end that glue does not stick to well. After making up your struts cross pin the clevis to the bamboo strut. The strut attachment point on the wing also wants to come loose. Ruff up the foam and use epoxy.

The GWS Cub is very similar to the GWS Beaver. It just has a smaller fuse. Check out the Beaver thread "Canada's Latest Beaver". Those guys know their stuff.

Mike
Radiobum is offline Find More Posts by Radiobum
Old Oct 25, 2005, 01:33 PM
build, fly, crash, repeat ...
Oregon