Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old May 20, 2002, 07:35 AM
Centerville, In. USA
Joined Jul 2001
1,966 Posts
Electric combat plane vs. gas combat plane

Are there any electric planes that would be competitive in a gas combat event without getting into brushless motors and other expensive stuff? Our events go for 5 minutes. Is it allowed? If so what motor , gearbox , esc, and battery pack would work best? RCNutt
rcnutt is offline Find More Posts by rcnutt
to remove ads between posts
Old May 21, 2002, 03:41 AM
Central Florida
Joined Oct 2001
419 Posts
Being a RCCA combat pilot I have thought alot about this myself. one posability I have thought about is a twin endo powered setup. After flying the kwik-e, I think doubling its power and wingspan may do the trick, but I haven't had the time to do it yet. Hope to hear other ideas as well
drewjet is offline Find More Posts by drewjet
Old May 21, 2002, 06:25 AM
United States, CT, Enfield
Joined Nov 2000
343 Posts
If you’re talking about the AMA 1/12th scale combat event (750) the answer is no.

I did quite a bit of looking at the available options about a year ago when I wanted to compete in combat. The 750 rules allow any electric motor and any number of batteries as long as you stay within the 3 lb. total weight limit.

Flame away if you wish, but in my opinion the electric technology is simply not available right now to compete with the gas planes in this event, regardless of cost. You could easily come up with an electric plane that meets the class criteria and be able to fly in competition, but not one that would have the performance to actually be a serious competitor in this event.
Paul is offline Find More Posts by Paul
Old May 21, 2002, 04:02 PM
Central Florida
Joined Oct 2001
419 Posts
the rcca rules have changed and allow for higher weights in the scale twins, depending on wingspan. Also twins are now allowed in open as well and there is an allowable extra 1/2 pound for electrics.