HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 28, 2005, 11:54 PM
Sunland, CA
Joined Jan 2003
27 Posts
16th Century Korean Turtle Ship

I just wanted to scratch build a Korean Turtle Ship. Since I'm new in woodworking, I had to go through some trial and error so far. I guess I'll make a better one after this. Since I used 2x4 from HomeDepot, the wood cost only about $10.

Following images are from the 'professionals' kits. I used these images to build mine. One important thing I had in mind was to make this RC-capable.
Vfly is offline Find More Posts by Vfly
Last edited by Vfly; Sep 29, 2005 at 12:31 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 29, 2005, 12:05 AM
Sunland, CA
Joined Jan 2003
27 Posts
i'm not sure if i'm doing this right...

testing.
Old Sep 29, 2005, 12:13 AM
Sunland, CA
Joined Jan 2003
27 Posts
ok, i guess it's working now so...

more pics
Old Sep 29, 2005, 12:29 AM
Sunland, CA
Joined Jan 2003
27 Posts
and more pics...

each piece has been cut out using a $100 table saw and another $100 band saw.
Old Sep 29, 2005, 01:00 AM
Sea Dragon-Lover
PDX, OR
Joined Dec 2002
9,849 Posts
What an absolutely beautiful assembly of 2"x4"s!!!
I was going to ask if you wer going to "cam" the oars and row the boat, but I see two electric motors. Are those for propellers, or are they geared down and set up for the oars? They seem oddly placed.
As the turtle boats are propelled by "sculling" oars as opposed to "rowing" oars are the motors placed to provide side to side motion?
How will it shift the oar angle while in motion?

What an absolutely great engineering project.

Tell us more about the operation.
Umi_Ryuzuki is offline Find More Posts by Umi_Ryuzuki
Old Sep 29, 2005, 01:19 AM
Sunland, CA
Joined Jan 2003
27 Posts
operation

Thanks Umi,

Yes, to mimic the real turtle ship, i wanted to make it move by 'sculling' i.e. making '8' rowing, i found a couple of problems.