HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 23, 2005, 01:53 PM
Lake Stevens Wa
Joined Feb 2005
50 Posts
.20 or .40 Size Glow Engines comparable to Brushless.

Stupid Question of the Month (Maybe Year!).

What if any brushless motors are comparable to a .20 size Glow motor, and likewise a .40 size motor?

I have no experience with glow motors when I got into this (3 Years ago) all I did was Slope or Sailplanes. I am not questioning weather or not to go with glow power to stick strictly with brushless motors.

All of the aircraft I plan on building ar 1/12 Scale (35-60 inch wing spans) or sport Planes, and I am not really interested in 3d Flying.

Thanks
Rattlehead is offline Find More Posts by Rattlehead
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 23, 2005, 03:20 PM
chicks dig rockers
Joined Sep 2005
79 Posts
unfortunately its not a straight forward thing..

theres some kind of strange algorythm that they use to figure it out.. it has something to do with the absolute value of 453932575475 devided by the diameter of the average sand grain times the square root of the kool aid man.

-Joe
Atomic is offline Find More Posts by Atomic
Old Sep 23, 2005, 03:57 PM
(madkev :) )
United Kingdom, England, Stafford
Joined Dec 2002
402 Posts
comparing ic to electric

hi

some brushless motors have a rating that is a direct reference to ic (15, 20, 40)

but there is a way to work it out, 1bhp is around 740 watts

my OS32sx has a stated bhp of 1.1, this means that it produces around 815 watts

electric power systems are measured in watts also (voltage * amps) = watts

so to get the same sort of power you would need something like 20volts at 41amps

but it's not that simple

i used to fly my 44" mustang on electric with several different setups, now its Ic and its not a lot faster

electric setup
axi 2820/10 and 10 cp1700 cells pulling 35amps with a 11*6 prop
so (10*1.2)*35=420watt and around 8800rpm

ic