HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 08, 2002, 12:12 AM
central AZ
Joined May 2002
1,195 Posts
First plane: Conversion or not?

I am somewhat new to this whole thing (R/C aviation as a whole. I've been flying our Dave Brown sim for about 4 years or so, but I realize that it's nothing like the real thing). I live in the middle of the city, and the closest I have to a flying field is my neighborhood park (quite fit for the job, I would have to say).

My father has flown a few times (some ARF foamies a while (18 or more years ago), so he has started to get back into it a bit. I have also caught the bug, so I went with him to an R/C auction a while back, and picked up a Guillows Cessna 172 (36" span). I have built a smaller 24" span Cessna 150, and have purchased a Cub of the same size, as well as an 18" Mustang, all Free-Flight. I thought I'd go for something bigger and run it control line, so I got the 172.

Recently, I saw a Hornet micro heli, and was hooked. However, I don't think I am anywhere near ready for a helicopter, but I am still hooked on these smaller aircraft for their ability to fly in confined spaces and to do so quietly. And, since I couldn't have a Heli (the cost was also limiting), I looked into park/micro flyers, which is where my questions come in (forgive me for taking so long to get to them ).

Would it be suggested that I get something that would be easier for me to build and fly (I am looking at a GWS Pico Cub-FD), or would it be safe for someone like unto myself to build a larger kit, and then rig it for 4 channel control? Any relative answers I can get would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Nick
KnifeEdge51 is online now Find More Posts by KnifeEdge51
to remove ads between posts
Old May 08, 2002, 12:16 AM
Been There! Done That!
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Joined Sep 2001
19,187 Posts
It's tough to learn to fly 4 channel for your first plane... go for the cub!
boomer
boomerace is offline Find More Posts by boomerace