SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 05, 2005, 03:08 AM
Who reversed my ailerons?
Saskatoon,Sk. Canada
Joined Feb 2005
1,123 Posts
Dragonfly, shogun, corona, now what should be my next bigger heli?

I'm a veteran to glow and especially electric planes and rather new to helis. I've learned alot about them in my experiences with my past helis. Now, I was starting to get into glow helis because I wanted to go bigger. I have a beat up used Kyosho Concept I can't seem to find parts for and was thinking of getting a raptor 30 or 50. I'm not interested in crazy 3d flying, I just love watching a heli zip around.

I've sort of looked into Logo's for electric, but most of these other names I haven't heard of. Are there many 30 to 50 sized Electric helis available?

The logos I've seen have very expensive Lipo packs (which I understand they need) and costly brushless motors and esc as well. Does a full size Electric heli cost close to the same as getting into a raptor 30?
I love electrics and would like to try a larger heli. But I'm not made of money and I can get into a 30 sized glow heli for around $500 (I have my own servos and rx/tx already).

Plus, I only have Triton charger, so charging a 6S or 8S Lipo pack could be tough if not impossible.

Is it possible to get into a large heli for under $1000?
Any thoughts from the pros here with large helis?
dgfisher2004 is offline Find More Posts by dgfisher2004
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 05, 2005, 08:04 AM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,787 Posts
My suggestion would be a Raptor 30/50 conversion or the new Raptor 600EP. The 600EP should be available in a week or so. With the current technology EP helicopters now have better performance than IC helicopters of the same size and things are only going to get better.

It might be possible to do a Raptor 30 for $1000. Read the Low Cost Raptor thread.