HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 02, 2005, 12:33 AM
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Sep 2005
12 Posts
Never enough power!

Hi all, I'm a newbie to this site.

I have a Losi XXX-T MF2 (and a MF1) and I've been running a Novak 5800SS for about a year now. It's been a very good motor, but I want to upgrade big time!
I saw my friend run 12 cells on his Hacker c40 8t and was absolutely stunned by the speed. The Novak is limited only at 7 cells. I was gonna get the Hacker, but I would like something MORE powerful even. I'm interested in the Lehner range. They seem powerful and cheaper, but still good quality.
The Lehner basic XL4200 looks good. It's suggested to be run at 6-12 cells which is exactly the range I'm looking at. The problem is it's rated at 110 amps!
But then there's also the basic 4200 not XL (6-10 cell) which is rated at 45-55A.
What's the difference between the performance of the basic and the basic XL series? I know the XL's run cooler and are a bit bigger. I don't really want to spend a fortune on a speedy that can handle 110A if I don't have to.
Could I get a cheap ESC (I saw one on eBay for under $100) that's rated 80/100A and use it with say maximum 10 cells on the XL4200 (110A) without frying it?

If anyone knows a bit about these, I would appreciate any input.

regards,
Marco
Marcomando is offline Find More Posts by Marcomando
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 02, 2005, 03:24 PM
NoS
IT Technician
Cambridge MA
Joined Sep 2004
400 Posts
the hackar c40 8s will make ur car do 60 with 12 cells
NoS is offline Find More Posts by NoS
Old Sep 03, 2005, 04:21 PM
United States
Joined Dec 2004
1,893 Posts
Hi Marcomando,
i've been really interested in brushless motors. what is your experience with the Novak 5800SS? how fast does it make your car go? and how much runtime do you have and what batt. you use with it (brand, capacity Mah)??
TueLe is offline Find More Posts by TueLe
Old Sep 04, 2005, 12:01 PM
Phoenix Intl, Arizona, United States