HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 24, 2005, 11:58 PM
My job ate my life
Canada, BC, Campbell River
Joined Nov 2004
65 Posts
My Story Thus Far

So I'm still very new to all this.

I've had my first plane now for about 3 months, and after about 2 of those month trying unsuccessfully to find someone to instruct me, I decided to take matters into my own hands. After numerous crashes and repairs, I think I finally have the hang of flying. Here's my story thus far:

I bought a VMar J-3 Cub (ARF) as my first plane. A lot of people told me to put the nice little cub away and buy something made of foam. After 2 or 3 nights of assembly, I thought I was ready to fly. Took it out to the local school field, and got about 5 feet in the air and crashed it. (that story is posted around here somewhere) anyway, I decided that maybe the instructor route was the way to go. So, I went to the LHS to inquire as to who might be able to help..."Oh, just show up at the airfield on a saturday afternoon" Well, saturday afternoons are not good for me, so I tried at various points throughout the week. Best I could get in an entire month, was someone that flew it for me...Which really helped alot, because he showed me how to trim it all up and adjust the throws and all that stuff. Well, after that, another month went by before my plane was airborne again. At the airfield one day, someone put it way up in the air for me, and handed over the TX...that lasted for about 2 minutes, then the battery started to go, so he took it back and landed it for me. That was the first and last instruction I ever got.