SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 22, 2005, 04:48 AM
Off 2 The Edge of Reality
TeamTEOR's Avatar
Scottsdale, AZ
Joined Sep 2003
7,479 Posts
GW/R6NII & GW/R4PII BEC question

What are the limits on the BEC for the GW/R6NII & GW/R4PII RX Radios?

I just want to be sure that I am not going to overload the BEC and loose control of a plane. (Got to keep it safe!)
TeamTEOR is offline Find More Posts by TeamTEOR
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 22, 2005, 07:46 AM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,185 Posts
Neither of these receivers has a BEC built in. They must be powered either by a 4~5 cell battery (4.8~6.0V) or via an external BEC (typically a BEC-equipped speed controller).
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2005, 08:26 AM
Registered User
pilot89's Avatar
North Olmsted, Ohio
Joined May 2005
57 Posts
No Bec
pilot89 is offline Find More Posts by pilot89
Last edited by pilot89; Aug 22, 2005 at 04:00 PM. Reason: I was completely wrong
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2005, 02:57 PM
Whatever happens..Happens
jswjimmy's Avatar
Sanford, Maine, United States
Joined Aug 2004
628 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilot89
They have a BEC built in. I don't know how much it can take, but I used on on my corsair for a while and never used a seperate reciever battery. I had 3 hs-55 and a 9.6v battery if that helps.
are you shure you went using a speed control with a bec? i think all of the gws and most other esc companys have built in becs.
jswjimmy is offline Find More Posts by jswjimmy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2005, 04:02 PM
Registered User
pilot89's Avatar
North Olmsted, Ohio
Joined May 2005
57 Posts
You're right. They don't have a Bec built in. I got confused and thought the bec was on the rx instead of the esc.
pilot89 is offline Find More Posts by pilot89
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2005, 05:55 PM
Off 2 The Edge of Reality
TeamTEOR's Avatar
Scottsdale, AZ
Joined Sep 2003
7,479 Posts
OPS, at 3am I guess my thoughts were not so clear. Ok, ICS-300, ICS-400, and ICS-480 are the ESCs I am concerned about, and I get to answer my own primary question, 5v 1.2a.

So as a secondary question I guess, how many amps does PICO STD servos pull?
TeamTEOR is offline Find More Posts by TeamTEOR
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2005, 06:05 PM
Whatever happens..Happens
jswjimmy's Avatar
Sanford, Maine, United States
Joined Aug 2004
628 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTEOR
OPS, at 3am I guess my thoughts were not so clear. Ok, ICS-300, ICS-400, and ICS-480 are the ESCs I am concerned about, and I get to answer my own primary question, 5v 1.2a.

So as a secondary question I guess, how many amps does PICO STD servos pull?
im not shure but i think its under .2 amps while under load. i think you might be able to run 4 of them on the gws esc, but im not shure, but i am shure you could run 3 of them.
jswjimmy is offline Find More Posts by jswjimmy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Receiver BEC Question Battfly Power Systems 5 Mar 04, 2002 08:07 AM
Aveox SL-48 BEC question scirocco Power Systems 7 Jan 29, 2002 03:56 PM
ESC BEC Question DaleM Power Systems 2 Nov 15, 2001 08:11 PM
ESC BEC Question DaleM Electric Sailplanes 1 Nov 15, 2001 04:49 PM
BEC Question Hitec-Redneck Sport Planes 1 Oct 16, 2001 07:14 AM