SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Thread Tools
Old Aug 22, 2005, 04:48 AM
TeamTEOR is offline
Find More Posts by TeamTEOR
Off 2 The Edge of Reality
TeamTEOR's Avatar
Scottsdale, AZ
Joined Sep 2003
7,480 Posts
GW/R6NII & GW/R4PII BEC question

What are the limits on the BEC for the GW/R6NII & GW/R4PII RX Radios?

I just want to be sure that I am not going to overload the BEC and loose control of a plane. (Got to keep it safe!)
TeamTEOR is offline Find More Posts by TeamTEOR
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 22, 2005, 07:46 AM
Bruce Abbott is offline
Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,217 Posts
Neither of these receivers has a BEC built in. They must be powered either by a 4~5 cell battery (4.8~6.0V) or via an external BEC (typically a BEC-equipped speed controller).
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2005, 08:26 AM
pilot89 is offline
Find More Posts by pilot89
Registered User
pilot89's Avatar
North Olmsted, Ohio
Joined May 2005
57 Posts
No Bec
pilot89 is offline Find More Posts by pilot89
Last edited by pilot89; Aug 22, 2005 at 04:00 PM. Reason: I was completely wrong
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2005, 02:57 PM
jswjimmy is offline
Find More Posts by jswjimmy
Whatever happens..Happens
jswjimmy's Avatar
Sanford, Maine, United States
Joined Aug 2004
628 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilot89
They have a BEC built in. I don't know how much it can take, but I used on on my corsair for a while and never used a seperate reciever battery. I had 3 hs-55 and a 9.6v battery if that helps.
are you shure you went using a speed control with a bec? i think all of the gws and most other esc companys have built in becs.
jswjimmy is offline Find More Posts by jswjimmy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2005, 04:02 PM
pilot89 is offline
Find More Posts by pilot89
Registered User
pilot89's Avatar
North Olmsted, Ohio
Joined May 2005
57 Posts
You're right. They don't have a Bec built in. I got confused and thought the bec was on the rx instead of the esc.
pilot89 is offline Find More Posts by pilot89
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2005, 05:55 PM
TeamTEOR is offline
Find More Posts by TeamTEOR
Off 2 The Edge of Reality
TeamTEOR's Avatar
Scottsdale, AZ
Joined Sep 2003
7,480 Posts
OPS, at 3am I guess my thoughts were not so clear. Ok, ICS-300, ICS-400, and ICS-480 are the ESCs I am concerned about, and I get to answer my own primary question, 5v 1.2a.

So as a secondary question I guess, how many amps does PICO STD servos pull?
TeamTEOR is offline Find More Posts by TeamTEOR
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2005, 06:05 PM
jswjimmy is offline
Find More Posts by jswjimmy
Whatever happens..Happens
jswjimmy's Avatar
Sanford, Maine, United States
Joined Aug 2004
628 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTEOR
OPS, at 3am I guess my thoughts were not so clear. Ok, ICS-300, ICS-400, and ICS-480 are the ESCs I am concerned about, and I get to answer my own primary question, 5v 1.2a.

So as a secondary question I guess, how many amps does PICO STD servos pull?
im not shure but i think its under .2 amps while under load. i think you might be able to run 4 of them on the gws esc, but im not shure, but i am shure you could run 3 of them.
jswjimmy is offline Find More Posts by jswjimmy
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Receiver BEC Question Battfly Power Systems 5 Mar 04, 2002 08:07 AM
Aveox SL-48 BEC question scirocco Power Systems 7 Jan 29, 2002 03:56 PM
ESC BEC Question DaleM Power Systems 2 Nov 15, 2001 08:11 PM
ESC BEC Question DaleM Electric Sailplanes 1 Nov 15, 2001 04:49 PM
BEC Question Hitec-Redneck Sport Planes 1 Oct 16, 2001 07:14 AM