HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 19, 2005, 10:49 PM
Wind is the devil.
Joined Aug 2005
1,030 Posts
I am plotting on my first RC Plane purchase...

Hello people. I am a complete noobie when it comes to RC Planes but I used to help my friend transport his glow planes to the local club where I grew up, and watch them fly all evening. I have never flown a plane, and now I am looking to get into the hobby on my own.

I am pals with Wufnu from another forum, and he directed me here to learn more about the hobby and to get some advice and assistance.

I must admit, I am quite overwhelmed with the abbreviations and acronyms, but I am trying to learn what I can.

Thus far, it seems like the Pico Tiger Moth by GWS is an excellent choice for someone who wishes to build their first plane, and explore upgrade options in the future.

However, I am a bit reserved to buy a 3 channel plane, as I want to learn to 3D eventually.

I am 100% positive that I want my first radio to be a solid investment. I want a 4 -channel, dependable, and decent range. Radios seem to be the largest portion of the investment, and it would be wise to buy one that offers me long-term service. I have seen a few models that hold programming for multiple planes, but I am far to novice to decide on which one is an economical and solid choice for a beginner.

I believe that the Tiger Moth would be an excellent starter plane as I have noted the brushless upgrades in threads on this forum.

Wufnu has told me that I need to be wary about brushless and li-po upgrades due to fire hazards. I'm not sure I understand this

Anywho, I am looking to spend around $250-300 for my initial setup, and another $200 on any upgrades once I feel comfortable. Once I have mastered a noobie plane with brushless setup, I will be looking for balsa kit (for the experience of constructing a plane), and a 3D model. After that I may make a speed demon glow plane, who knows...

Any advice or insight would be appreciated.