HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 19, 2005, 02:48 PM
Trying to learn 3D flying
Seattle, WA
Joined Nov 2004
102 Posts
TREC ESC question. Not working properly?

Hi,

I am a newbie with a Dragonfly FP. The receiver is GWS 6 channel, GWS PG-03 Piezo Gyro, TREC DDV2 ESC, main motor is Feigo Brushless.

My question is that is the tail motor supposed to turn when the main rotor is rotating? The tail motor does work and turn on only when the tail is spinning but when the tail motor is turning, the tail is still spinning?

I have also played around with the PG-03 gyro gain and setup setting, however that does not help.

Is there something I am supposed to do with the TREC ESC? Any help is really appreciated.

--Jason
jasoncy2k is offline Find More Posts by jasoncy2k
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 19, 2005, 04:25 PM
United States, FL, Kissimmee
Joined Jan 2005
845 Posts
does that tx have revo mixing?
theShark is offline Find More Posts by theShark
Old Aug 19, 2005, 05:43 PM
MI
Joined Jan 2005
611 Posts
If I'm understanding your question right, then the tail motor should be spinning all the time in flight. If the tail stops completely in flight the heli will piro left very fast. The tail needs to constantly be working to counter the torque from the main motor in flight. Your tail motor driven heli has a fixed pitch rotor, so can only adjust its thrust by speeding up or slowing down. In a right turn, the tail speeds up to overpower the main motor torque. In a left turn, the tail slows down to allow the main motor torque to turn the heli. When the tail is holding the heli straight, the tail is spinning fast enough to produce exactly enough thrust to counter the main's torque.
uav51 is offline Find More Posts by uav51
Old Aug 19, 2005, 06:12 PM
Its all fun
Australia, NSW, Forster
Joined Oct 2004
7,162 Posts