HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 15, 2005, 01:07 PM
WOT me worry?
Houston but not for much longer
Joined Jul 2005
33 Posts
RTR Gas boats

Wow, this boat is slick! I'm very new to boats, and I read a sales article about this boat. Does anyone have anything to say about this boat?

As a real novice, how do you retrieve a capsized or stalled boat in the middle of the lake?
VorTX is offline Find More Posts by VorTX
Last edited by VorTX; Aug 23, 2005 at 09:03 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 15, 2005, 10:37 PM
RC boat Rock Star
Kalamazoo, MI
Joined Apr 2004
2,940 Posts
Nothing good. They've had their share of typical ProBoat problems. Misaligned stuffing tubes that leads to flex cable breakage is a big one. They really aren't too fast for what you pay for one, the ones that I've seen run are slow but don't handle too bad.
The second question is asked a lot. A tennis ball and fishing reel if it dies close by, a rod and reel with a top-water lure can work but I favor my inflatable boats, cheap and fairly easy to transport. A big no-no is to swim after a dead boat, peole have drowned doing this. Yes, no kidding.
BTW, don't believe all that you read, especially in magazines. They wouldn't sell much ad space if they told the real truth.
Ron Olson is offline Find More Posts by Ron Olson
Old Aug 16, 2005, 12:54 AM
WOT me worry?
Joined Jul 2005
33 Posts
Thanks Ron, I guess this includes the pro boat miss bud hydro as well? I saw that one on the DYI show rc hobbies. But read an article which said left turns faster than 1/2 throtle were a danger no no because of rudder designed to turn right. So what is a good rtr gas boat? thanks.
Old Aug 16, 2005, 01:46 AM
KC8WPF
Euclid, Ohio, United States
Joined Sep 2004
3,798 Posts
Quote:
So what is a good rtr gas boat?