HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 30, 2002, 03:22 PM
Registered User
The Other Dave's Avatar
Colorado Front Range, USA, EARTH, Sol system, Milkyway Galaxy
Joined Nov 2001
2,356 Posts
What are people using for a tachometer?

I am looking to start modding my zagi 400x.

I have several props and some new motors on order.

But I want to be able to tach them when I am done.

What are people using for tachs?

Thanks,

T O D
The Other Dave is offline Find More Posts by The Other Dave
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2002, 03:31 PM
Balsa Flies Better!
Stamford, CT
Joined Oct 2000
6,690 Posts
TNC Electronics

Has a switch between 2 and 3 blades (not really necessary) displays to 100 rpm. Very well done unit- around $80.

Sam
Megowcoupe is offline Find More Posts by Megowcoupe
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2002, 04:36 PM
RIP Ric
Andy W's Avatar
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts
Good lord.. $80?
I paid $30 for my Glo-Bee unit.. Reads to 10's, and does 2 and 3 blade also (and 4, I think)..
..a
Andy W is offline Find More Posts by Andy W
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2002, 04:58 PM
Registered User
Rochester, NY, USA
Joined Aug 2000
7,368 Posts
Yeah, the $30 Glo-Bee works fine for me. Mine has a switch for 2, 3, or 4 blades.
Greg Covey is offline Find More Posts by Greg Covey
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2002, 09:12 PM
Registered User
Pittsburgh, PA
Joined Jan 2002
1,271 Posts
Range confused

Andy said "Reads to 10's" and
Megowcoupe said "displays to 100 rpm".
These numbers can't be right ? Can they ?
FlyByMike is offline Find More Posts by FlyByMike
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2002, 09:38 PM
RIP Ric
Andy W's Avatar
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts
No, that means that mine will drop the last digit, and that other one drops the last two. i.e. if you read a prop turning at 2457 RPM with mine, you'll see 245, and with that other one, 24..
..a
Andy W is offline Find More Posts by Andy W
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2002, 09:38 PM
high-speed freak
opualuan's Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Sep 2001
3,863 Posts
accuracy. I have the globee, works fine, find one nib cheap on ebay. use a flashlight pointed at the sensor, ac lights will give you weird readings.

so: if your true rpm is 15,227 on a 7x6 prop (I can dream about owning a hacker, right?) the globee will read 15230 and the other $80 tach will read 15200 or 15300.

make sense?

get the globee or similar, does 2-3-4 blade, tower also has a mini-opto tach that was like $15 for a while, but went back up...
opualuan is offline Find More Posts by opualuan
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2002, 12:02 AM
iankraus.com/rcvideo
iankraus's Avatar
Joined Jun 2001
450 Posts
I have the tower unit. I wish I would have got the glo bee.
The tower unit needs very bright daylight behind the prop ( i know they all do but not to this degree). It can be difficult to get a reading at times. Go with the globee.
iankraus is offline Find More Posts by iankraus
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2002, 01:12 AM
BEC
Registered User
BEC's Avatar
Auburn, Washington USA
Joined Jan 2001
12,935 Posts
I use an old NorCal Avionics Accu-Tach. This thing is probably close to 20 years old. It does fine in incandescent lighting, but I do have to turn off any flourescents nearby. Reads to 10 RPM increments and also can be a voltmeter, though I haven't used that function since I got my first reliable peak detector charger and stopped peaking batteries manually. (Yes, I do have some gray in my beard...)

Had a GloBee - won it at a meet. If it didn't need a new battery every time I went to use it I'd have liked it alot better.....but it's battery saver feature didn't.
BEC is offline Find More Posts by BEC
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2002, 06:52 AM
RIP Ric
Andy W's Avatar
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts
Yes, good point, the globee does use batteries. I would keep the battery out of the unit until needed..
..a
Andy W is offline Find More Posts by Andy W
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2002, 07:35 AM
Registered User
Ralph Weaver's Avatar
Indianapolis, IN USA
Joined Nov 2000
2,305 Posts
TNC, most accurate, reads up to several feet away, has it's own light source and reads down to 10rpm. The sensor head can also be removed and connected to the body with a cable if you want to mount the head to a test stand.
Ralph Weaver is offline Find More Posts by Ralph Weaver
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2002, 08:30 AM
Involuntary Beta Tester
Joined Jan 2002
8,288 Posts
I have a Tower model and like a previous poster notice I need to have a light source behind the prop. I got it for only $20 when I ordered it so I can't complain. It does a good enough job for me but I've only been in this hobby about three months.

Kelvin
kelvin is offline Find More Posts by kelvin
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2002, 09:07 AM
characters welcome!
Mark Wood's Avatar
United States, CA, Bear Valley Springs
Joined Feb 2000
25,932 Posts
Glo-Bee.

mw
Mark Wood is offline Find More Posts by Mark Wood
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2002, 09:52 AM
Registered User
Dick Huang's Avatar
Dallas,TX, USA
Joined Mar 1999
834 Posts
TNC
Dick Huang
Dick Huang is offline Find More Posts by Dick Huang
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2002, 11:50 AM
Registered User
The Other Dave's Avatar
Colorado Front Range, USA, EARTH, Sol system, Milkyway Galaxy
Joined Nov 2001
2,356 Posts
Ok I found the glo-bee at tower but they are backordered
untill the end of may.

Any other place that carries them?

Thanks,

Dave
The Other Dave is offline Find More Posts by The Other Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion What are people using to hang helis for storage ericnord Electric Heli Talk 8 Sep 19, 2006 09:10 AM
What paint are people using for the camo paint jobs? ugotoslope Slope 6 Jun 22, 2004 03:57 AM
what are you using for high amp battery connectors? dhauch Electric Sailplanes 7 Mar 17, 2004 06:50 AM
So, what are people using besides the Hacker B20-15L these days? sizam Parkflyers 12 Jan 09, 2004 06:45 AM
Adriana - What are you using for battery pack ? MDM Electric Sailplanes 6 Dec 28, 2003 07:18 PM