HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 06, 2005, 11:32 AM
Yep I got another one.
mohillbilly's Avatar
Springfield, Mo.
Joined Jan 2005
2,529 Posts
Question about amps with same volts.

Ok sorry not exactly plane related but I need help.

ok so I have something that runs off a 115ac plug and converts it to 12VDC @ 500mah, can I cut the plug and say run it off a car battery? its 12V but huge amps of cource. with it only draw what it needs or will it go up in smoke? thanks for any help.
mohillbilly is offline Find More Posts by mohillbilly
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 06, 2005, 11:59 AM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
21,175 Posts
What kind of item are we talking about?

It seems that it would no different then a 12V charger that you plug into a power supply? You can run it from the 12V battery or the 12V power supply. The circuitry of the device determines the current draw.

In your case, you just make sure that your battery can deliver 500ma. (Not mah)

Make sense?

(These ramblings are not to be considered reasonable or sane advice)
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2005, 01:37 PM
Registered User
Perth, Australia
Joined Mar 2004
872 Posts
Should work OK but make sure you use a Radio Shack inline blade or glass type fuse holder with a fuse of around 1 - 2 amps, situated close as possible to the battery. Just in case you accidently short the wires to the eqipment.

Ron...
Cas123 is offline Find More Posts by Cas123
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2005, 01:48 PM
Yep I got another one.
mohillbilly's Avatar
Springfield, Mo.
Joined Jan 2005
2,529 Posts
Cool thats what I thought, Basicly I'm taking something that runs off a 12V / 500ma power supply, and willbe running off my car battery. 12V / lots of amps. I always use a fuse for stuff like this or I just run the wire from the fuse box.

Thanks
mohillbilly is offline Find More Posts by mohillbilly
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2005, 01:58 PM
Registered User
Perth, Australia
Joined Mar 2004
872 Posts
Just double check to make sure you have the + and - wires connected right.

Ron...
Cas123 is offline Find More Posts by Cas123
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Question about a Transmitter with a new Airplane Col Sanders v2 Electric Plane Talk 6 Apr 25, 2007 02:05 AM
Question Quick question about amps/speed controllers... Merkaba Power Systems 3 Dec 24, 2005 02:01 AM
Question about Flaps with Optic 6. STaNgXs Hitec/Multiplex USA 1 Jan 09, 2005 02:48 AM
Question about A-10 with polies? thor4944 Parkflyers 4 Aug 08, 2003 01:12 AM
Question about glassing with WBPU... please help. NetForce2K Foamies (Kits) 3 Jul 25, 2002 11:20 AM