HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale

Horizon Hobby's ParkZone Cub RTF Instructor-Assisted Beginner Pilot Testing Review

The ParkZone Cub passes the acid test when an absolute beginner assembles and learns to fly it with excellent results. Experienced instructor Albert Wahrhaftig acts as flight instructor and author for this fun and interesting review.

Splash

INTRODUCTION

The finished Cub got a proud smile from a six year old.
The finished Cub got a proud smile from a six year old.
Wingspan:37 1/4"
Weight:15 oz.
Length:26 3/4"
Servos:rudder and elevator, already installed
Transmitter:FM 27MHz proportional, included
Receiver:3 channel programmable Rx/ESC, already installed
Battery:7 cell 600ma. NI-MH, included
Motor:Geared 370, already installed
Charger:DC Peak detecting, adjustable, included
Manufactured by:ParkZone
Available From:Horizon Hobby Dealers or their website

In the world of full scale aircraft, generation after generation of pilots learned to fly on the trusty Piper J3 Cub. This heritage carried over to the world of miniature radio controlled aircraft, where Cubs have always made excellent trainers.

Believe me, those new to electric powered RC -- and with access to an instructor -- can’t go wrong choosing ParkZone’s version of the Cub as a “starter”. For a very reasonable price, everything – and I mean EVERYTHING – needed to get you into the air was included in one box, the end product of which was a well designed and generally rugged semi-scale model with excellent flight characteristics.

This review is going to be a little different. I want to concentrate on the human aspect of this subject. How easy was it for an absolute beginner to assemble the J-3 Cub? Was an absolute beginner able learn to fly with the J-3 Cub? How much help did the beginner require?