HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 19, 2002, 08:48 AM
Joined Apr 2002
20 Posts
Flight simulator for a Mac computer

Hi everyone i am new to this hobby and am looking for a flight simulator that will run on a mac. Is there one out there? I have had no luck in finding one. Thanks in advance
yaakman is offline Find More Posts by yaakman
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 19, 2002, 10:57 AM
Involuntary Beta Tester
Joined Jan 2002
8,288 Posts
If your're talking about an RC flight simulator then I don't think there is Mac version. Your only solution maybe Virtual PC if you have a G3 or G4 Mac. But then I think most of these RC sims use 3D graphics via Direct 3d. Virtual PC is good for business type apps but for games requiring 3d it probably is too slow.

PCs are pretty cheap now and you probably would need only a P3 800 for these to run smooth. As much as I would like to use a Mac for things like this I eventually bought a PC to run flight sims and such.

At least I'm still flying electric instead of IC.

Kelvin
kelvin is offline Find More Posts by kelvin
Old Apr 19, 2002, 01:16 PM
Joined Apr 2002
17 Posts
I feel your pain

I am running a Mac to,so I couldnt run any of these fancy R/C flight sims either I did download an old (UGLY) version of FMS to run on VPC but I dunno,it seems a little TOO dated. My Sky Scooter Pro gets here on the 25th,so Ill let yall know how I do with no flight
sim trying to solo Thank goodness for these forums. Maybe all my hours spent shooting down Spitfires and Mustangs in my trusty 109F-4 will pay off,GO WARBIRDS! (Seriously doubting it)
muzein is offline Find More Posts by muzein
Old Apr 19, 2002, 01:32 PM
Most Exalted Windbag
Newark, DE USA
Joined May 2001
1,632 Posts
I've used x-plane

http://www.x-plane.com/

I choose "tower view" and a Cessna. It gives practice of reversed direction when coming toward yourself, controlling overcontrol, lining up for landings and recovering orientation when plane "specks out" in the distance.