HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 16, 2006, 07:32 AM
Registered User
Twin-Jet-Crash's Avatar
Norway
Joined May 2004
255 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurgen Heilig
If you have been flying on 3 cells, chances are pretty high that your motors have already suffered. Otherwise the Cam Slim 6.6x3" should work fine on 2 cells and the stock motors (Permax 480 would be even better).

Jürgen
Most of the time I've been flying with a 7 cell NiCd, 1400mAh SubC.. Then I tested the LiPo, and it worked... for a while at least. The prop fell of at second flight, and I would say I was careful with the throttle..

Those Cam Slim 6.6x3", they would be good for a 3S/Permax 480-setup to, or would i need to get other props to get any real jump in performance if/when i upgrade to 480's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ildefonso
When you mount the propos, a small quantity of epoxy applied to the axe of the motor could avoid that props come of.
Yes, was thinking about it when i built the plane, but i didn't think that it would matter that much, it worked at my pico jet..! (yes, i know the difference is that it's a pusher)
Twin-Jet-Crash is offline Find More Posts by Twin-Jet-Crash
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 16, 2006, 08:38 AM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,762 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin-Jet-Crash
...
Those Cam Slim 6.6x3", they would be good for a 3S/Permax 480-setup to, or would i need to get other props to get any real jump in performance if/when i upgrade to 480's?
...
I said 2 cell setup. Using three cells, you need to use smaller props and even then 3 cells is still a very high voltage for cheap 3-pole motors - that's one of the reasons why I don't recommend a 3 cell setup.

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 08:49 AM
Registered User
Twin-Jet-Crash's Avatar
Norway
Joined May 2004
255 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurgen Heilig
I said 2 cell setup. Using three cells, you need to use smaller props and even then 3 cells is still a very high voltage for cheap 3-pole motors - that's one of the reasons why I don't recommend a 3 cell setup.

Jürgen
I was thinking about using 480-motors with those Cam Slim-props, and a 3S setup, when i upgrade from the 400's (probably to the summer sometime).
But maybe those props will be to much current on 3S, even on two Permax 480?
Twin-Jet-Crash is offline Find More Posts by Twin-Jet-Crash
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 09:21 AM
Registered User
Ildefonso's Avatar
Altafulla. Tarragona (Spain)
Joined Jan 2006
21 Posts
If this can help following my twin star II setup:

- 2 motors Permax 480/7.2 V
- lipo 3S 11.1 V 3100 mah 10C
- JAMARA Motor controller of 50A
- Standard props

During 5 flies between 15 to 30 minutes I have had any problem.

With this configuration measurin de consumption of one motor Permax 480 with different props the results obtained are:

5-4.5" ---> 11.5 A (standard prop)
5-5 " ---> 12.5 A
5.5-4.3" ---> 13 A
6.6-3" ---> 14 A
6-5" ---> 14.5 A
6.5-4" ---> 15 A

Above you can see my twin star decoration

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showa...d=736520&stc=1
Ildefonso is offline Find More Posts by Ildefonso
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 10:27 AM
Registered User
Twin-Jet-Crash's Avatar
Norway
Joined May 2004
255 Posts
That's a really nice looking Twin Star!

My TS is not painted in any way, did mount a trike landing gear, and a lighting system. But guess the next upgrade would be some 480-motors.
Twin-Jet-Crash is offline Find More Posts by Twin-Jet-Crash
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2006, 01:59 PM
Registered User
Twin-Jet-Crash's Avatar
Norway
Joined May 2004
255 Posts
By the way, where would the cheapest place be to find Permax/Speed 480-motors, and maybe a new ESC? I think the MPX Pico Control 400 Duo is the reason of all the glitches I've been having on the TS.
Twin-Jet-Crash is offline Find More Posts by Twin-Jet-Crash
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 12:17 AM
Sagacious flyer
Singapore
Joined Oct 2005
71 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ildefonso

With this configuration measurin de consumption of one motor Permax 480 with different props the results obtained are:

5-4.5" ---> 11.5 A (standard prop)
5-5 " ---> 12.5 A
5.5-4.3" ---> 13 A
6.6-3" ---> 14 A
6-5" ---> 14.5 A
6.5-4" ---> 15 A
This is really interesting, with my configurations. Here are my findings on the different props.

1) GWS 8040 - drawing 45Amps at full throttle.
2) Gaupner 6 x 5.5 - Drawing 42Amps at full throttle.

My setup is

Premex Speed 480 7.2V
50Amps Brush ESC
FlightPower Evo 20 - 2100mAh 20C 3S2P Lipo

Other then the current drawn, the power the thrust from the Gaupner prop is really fantastic.

Cheers
Kelvin
CoolMX is offline Find More Posts by CoolMX
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 12:38 AM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,762 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolMX
This is really interesting, with my configurations. Here are my findings on the different props.

1) GWS 8040 - drawing 45Amps at full throttle.
2) Gaupner 6 x 5.5 - Drawing 42Amps at full throttle.

My setup is

Premex Speed 480 7.2V
50Amps Brush ESC
FlightPower Evo 20 - 2100mAh 20C 3S2P Lipo

Other then the current drawn, the power the thrust from the Gaupner prop is really fantastic.

Cheers
Kelvin
Your props are way too big for the Permax 480. The motors are only good for 12A max.

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 02:48 AM
Got shenpa?
flieslikeabeagle's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined May 2004
10,940 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piledriver
<snip>I'm building my Twinstar with two 400xt's and two brushless esc's. I'll still have to decide on battery power but the motor part is all on its way. What should I use for batteries? Will a single 3150 3 cell be enough?
It should be ample. The 400XT should be kept to no more than 10 A at full throttle, with two of them your total current draw should not exceed 20 A or so. A 2000 mAh 10C 3S lipo pack would be maxed out at that current level and is about the smallest I'd recommend. A 3150 mAh pack will be quite unstressed, it will be operating at only about 6.3 C and should have a nice long happy life (lots of cycles).

I picked up a pair of GWS HD 8x6 props today to try on the Twinstar when I finally get the darn thing finished. I've been busy with other things the last few days and had no time to spend on building the Twinstar.

-Flieslikeabeagle
flieslikeabeagle is offline Find More Posts by flieslikeabeagle
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 05:09 AM
Honey,just one more thing
spudandretti's Avatar
Rensselaer,IN
Joined Jan 2003
3,098 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flieslikeabeagl
I've been busy with other things the last few days and had no time to spend on building the Twinstar.-Flieslikeabeagle
It seems I have that same problem. I really think its the wife. I'm assuming that she thinks if she keeps me busy then it takes longer to finish a plane, then she doesn't have to listen to my beggan for the next one, as soon Bud
spudandretti is offline Find More Posts by spudandretti
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 01:18 PM
Pete_es
lancs uk
Joined Jan 2005
60 Posts
just got my ts11 today ive got everything to build it, but will 4 hitech hs 50s do?

pete_es
Pete_es is offline Find More Posts by Pete_es
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 01:23 PM
Registered User
Twin-Jet-Crash's Avatar
Norway
Joined May 2004
255 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete_es
just got my ts11 today ive got everything to build it, but will 4 hitech hs 50s do?

pete_es
I think HS-50's will be to weak, HS-55 would work bot the 50's are to small and weak.. I'm using HS-81 all over my Twin Star II.
Twin-Jet-Crash is offline Find More Posts by Twin-Jet-Crash
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 02:43 PM
Pete_es
lancs uk
Joined Jan 2005
60 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin-Jet-Crash
I think HS-50's will be to weak, HS-55 would work bot the 50's are to small and weak.. I'm using HS-81 all over my Twin Star II.
thanks very much i thought so. i have 81s in my ez, well never mind ill have to try and get some tomorrow,i was just trying to rush the build lol

regards pete_es
Pete_es is offline Find More Posts by Pete_es
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 05:54 PM
SlopeHead
jcosta's Avatar
Lisboa, Portugal
Joined Jan 2004
2,882 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin-Jet-Crash
I think HS-50's will be to weak, HS-55 would work bot the 50's are to small and weak.. I'm using HS-81 all over my Twin Star II.
Even the 55s are a bit weak. I've managed to strip an HS-81 (elevator) already, doing some radical flying...
jcosta is offline Find More Posts by jcosta
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2006, 09:24 AM
Registered User
Gadsden Municipal, Alabama, United States
Joined Jun 2004
136 Posts
Hey
Been following this thread for quite a while and found lot of helpful comments. However one area still confussed on -Motor ,Battery combo !!!!See several dissertations -flyslikeabagel-opps sorry beagl and several more but still am not certain. I have the graupner speed 400 "7.2" volt and Castle Creation Pegasus-35p esc. My question is- 2s or 3s lipo and what mah. Also will the amps showing on my whattmeter be for both mtrs. or one - 14 amps mean 7 amps apeice or both mtrs 14 amp apeice
Appreciate any help you can give
Thanks -Harv
justaguy533 is offline Find More Posts by justaguy533
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mpx Micro-Jet has arrived! (Part II) flieslikeabeagle Foamies (Kits) 57 May 06, 2007 10:32 PM
Discussion MPX Twinstar II in Australia maxy333 Foamies (Kits) 1 Feb 25, 2006 03:25 PM
Yippee! MPX Twinstar II maidened today!! Chetto1965 Electric Plane Talk 10 Feb 08, 2006 01:09 AM
Discussion MPX Twinstar II configuration? Chetto1965 Electric Plane Talk 9 Jan 05, 2006 01:20 AM
The Mpx Micro-Jet has arrived! Jurgen Heilig Foamies (Kits) 655 Jun 05, 2005 03:46 AM