SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 16, 2002, 08:38 PM
San Antonio, Texas
Joined Apr 2002
199 Posts
Need help chosing trainer, 35" or 48" Herr Eng. piper cub!

Hi Guys! I am a total novice and I am about to embark on my first e-flight adventure!
I was wondering if I could get some help on choosing a trainer. I am interested in the Herr Engineering Piper Cub after reading several reviews. But I am not sure which size to get, 35" or 48"? I have decided to purchase a Hitec Flash 5X radio system with Micro 555 RX and 3 Hs-81 Servos (Glider Version) after reading several great discussions on your e-forum. Which plane would I be better off with in terms of my radio system and ease of flying?
Thanks, Roel
rvillegachapa is offline Find More Posts by rvillegachapa
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 16, 2002, 10:16 PM
Roxboro, NC U.S.A.
Joined Sep 2000
714 Posts
You picked a great radio to start with! I can't speak on the Herr Planes but as a novice in flying and building I would suggest an SR batteries Cutie if this is your first built up plane. It has great step by step instructions (I'm covering mine now) and from all reports it flies like a trainer should . I suspect that it will be more expensive than the Herr products but the instructions pay for themselves. If you don't have an instructor to help out with those first few flights I would suggest a T-52 or some other Foamie that can crash and go again with no time consuming repairs but that is another completely different discussion!!
Mike C is offline Find More Posts by Mike C
Old Apr 16, 2002, 11:42 PM
Garland, Texas
Joined Jul 2000
339 Posts