SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 16, 2002, 02:30 PM
Stuart Fl 34997
Joined Feb 2002
70 Posts
HL Mini Tornado flies

Judgement day arrived and I was quite pleased. Test glided it first then my neighbor got me 3 mistakes high, he's experienced with his Zagi and Im a new pilot so this possibly saved me some repairs. I'm using lions, the 830's from Mark Hackett, with the protection circuit bypassed, good duration and performance. Since I used lions the CG had to be augmented by about 11/2 Oz in the nose. I cut a receptacle in the bottom for the battery, case removed, and mounted the servos on top as suggested by someone in this forum. Also as suggested the throw on the servos was minimized and this made it a lot easier to fly for me. We did some sloppy loops and some rolls, not true axial but not bad for the first flight. I would definitely suggest this for a first wing. The only down side is the abysmal instructional manual. I'm using a Hitec Focus 3 with feather receiver
Crashmaster is offline Find More Posts by Crashmaster
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 16, 2002, 02:59 PM
Live to ride... and fly!
Forney, TX
Joined Mar 2002
15,165 Posts
Are you using 2 or 3 cells on the li-ons? Glad to hear the maiden voyage was a success! I'm sure your loops and rolls will be more crisp when you max out your horn settings.
Tres Wright is offline Find More Posts by Tres Wright
Old Apr 17, 2002, 06:02 AM
Stuart Fl 34997
Joined Feb 2002
70 Posts
HL Mini Tornado

Hi Tres, I,m using the orig 2 cell setup. I wanted a wing that could use the lions which so far I have been pleased with in performance and duration. I'm limited to the amp draw with these and maybe a 300 motor is the limit. I have a M100 sitting on my bench and it will trip the circuit immediately if the circuit is not bypassed or judicious use of throttle is not used. There are other wings I considered, the tilde and others but so far Im pleased with the mini t.
Old Apr 17, 2002, 07:22 AM