HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 03, 2005, 03:34 PM
RIP MC
United States, CA, Midway City
Joined Dec 2003
3,132 Posts
News to me Regarding Thunder Power

I've been using TP lipoly's for well over 2 years now. Never had any problems whatsoever. That is, until a couple weeks ago.

I had a pack that went bad and caught on fire. No warning signs, always have charged and discharged as usual. I always charge at .5C-.7C, discharged on this pack was less than 6c. All my packs are 3S so I never have to change the voltage settings.

The pack in question was a 3s2p 2100 and a 3s1p 2100 hooked up in parallel (3s3p). During a flight (30A static) I saw smoke coming out of the plane, landed immediately...

I took a huge risk by handling the pack and removing it from the plane and tossed it on the concrete ground where it proceeded to smoke for about 3 minutes and subsequently caught on fire.

The smoke seemed to come from the larger pack, but I didn't look closely long enough to tell. The fire caused the second pack to ignite.

I bought both of these at the same time as the store I bought from didn't have a 3s3p. It is about a year old but I know have less than 30 cycles on them.

Now here is the shocker. I sent it in to TP with a detailed letter of what happened, and they informed me that they will not warranty it because of misuse, not even an offer of 1/2 off on the purchase of a new pack... they considered it misuse because I ran them in parallel... this is news to me.

They told me they tell everyone not to run packs in series or parallel as it will void the warranty. I never heard such things nor have I found it posted anywhere including on their website.
fnnwizard is offline Find More Posts by fnnwizard
Last edited by fnnwizard; Jun 03, 2005 at 04:03 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 03, 2005, 04:18 PM
Joined Dec 2002
2,717 Posts
You must use match pack(very close in IR) for series or parallel applications.