Old May 30, 2005, 05:08 PM
Portugal
Joined May 2005
233 Posts
Building a 51'' Depron Spitfire MKIX

Hi everybody

Based on the magnificent plan available in this thread:
One Excellent S600 Spitfire Plan!!
i've decided to build my own 1/9 scale Spitfire MKIX.

There is one new Graupner 600 lying in my desk which could fit in this plane.
Yes yes yes ... I know... Brushless Rulezzzz. Maybe later, ok ?

I want to enter to the Guinness Book like the "Portuguese guy who has built the least expensive RC Spitfire of all"

The original plan was intended for balsa use. I am going to build mine, using 5mm Depron all over.

I have lots of experience because i have already built one (yes one) Depron plane: the F/A-18 Hornet Park Flyer.
(you can find it here - My first F-18 !)
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...&page=23&pp=15

Only one plane ?!?!?! Well, maybe i'm not an expert... That's why i hope to get some help from you guys !

Oh, by the way, i've only started flying last December... But i read a lot of RC magazines, surf a lot in the Internet and practice a lot in the flying field !

Well, enough talk, lets start !

PS: I don't know what to love more: Building or Flying...

Ruben
ruben is offline Find More Posts by ruben
Last edited by ruben; May 30, 2005 at 05:57 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old May 30, 2005, 05:17 PM
Portugal
Joined May 2005
233 Posts
Wing construction 1

These are my first pictures of the bottom wing. 4 hours working.
I've used UHU Por, hot melting glue and CA foam safe.
Last edited by ruben; May 30, 2005 at 05:25 PM.
Old May 30, 2005, 05:34 PM
Portugal
Joined May 2005
233 Posts
Wing construction 2

The glue in the ribbs is cured and both spars have been fixed. The aillerons hinging zone is reinforced.
Old May 30, 2005, 05:41 PM
Portugal
Joined May 2005
233 Posts
Wing construction 3

The two bottom wings are ready. Next i have to cut the holes for landing gear and ailleron servos.
Old May 30, 2005, 05:53 PM
Portugal
Joined May 2005
233 Posts