SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old May 30, 2005, 01:36 PM
KDX
Total Noob, but learning.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Joined May 2005
54 Posts
New Walkera #4 today

I recieved my new #4 today. What should I check before the first flight/crash? I thought I would try out the FMS software while the batteries are charging and I can't get it to work. I installed as per the instructions but am not able to calibrate the controls. I'm running XP Pro with all the latest patches and a wireless mouse/keyboard set up. Sould I take the motor out and run it for an hour or so with no load?
KDX is offline Find More Posts by KDX
to remove ads between posts
Old May 30, 2005, 01:52 PM
Coventry
Joined May 2004
268 Posts
The very first thing that you have to do before flying is take the time to balance the blades and the paddles. You have to make sure that they balance with each other when put on a pivot point. If one blade/paddle is lighter than the other you can put some tape on it to get them right. It might take a while to get it right but well worth the time spent doing it. When you put the batteries on make sure that the heli is balanced too. So when you hold the heli from the flybar the body of the heli isn't tilting in any direction.

If you want to run the motor in you can, probably doesn't matter much. But the balance issues are more important
davidcollins001 is offline Find More Posts by davidcollins001
Old May 30, 2005, 02:38 PM
David ( in the U,K )
Joined May 2005
133 Posts
hi and welcom
iv got the walkera dragonfy#4 and the sim that came with it i run xp and had the same prob had to chang the seting to standerd rather than the helicopter seting on the tx set up part now its ok hope this helps you and have fun the sim isnt the same as the real thing but it givs you a good start and costs you nowt when you crash it have fun with it im still lerning to hover no way can i hover the sim helli but dose give you co ordination skills