HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 15, 2002, 10:34 AM
Lexington, South Carolina
Joined Oct 2001
514 Posts
Flight training for aerobatics

Hello,
Does anyone have any suggestions, or can offer me some advise on the proper way to learn to fly aerobatics. I've been flying for about 8 months now, and I want to start learning to fly aerobatics. I don't have anyone that lives close to me that can teach me. I want to learn the proper way, and not start out with bad habits that I will need to correct later. I've done simple rolls and loops with my park flyer, and I have experience performing aerobatic on my flight sim, but have not wanted to try them on my plane until I learn the basics. I guess what I'm asking is, what techniques to you learn first, then second, and so on. I wanna be able to learn the same way I learned to fly, one step at a time, and I want to learn the proper steps, and get plenty of practise on each before moving on. The plane I'll be learning on is a SwitchBack with the sport wing.

Thanks,
Steven
Steven9026 is offline Find More Posts by Steven9026
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 15, 2002, 01:04 PM
God is good
Banjul
Joined Jan 2001
4,246 Posts
You've mastered about 3/4's of the basic patterns already if you can loop and roll. Many other aerobatic maneuvers are just combinations of the two maneuvers. Just add one more pattern to your repetoire and then practice, practice, practice.

Sportsman Pattern Maneuvers:

1. Take-off (upwind)
2. Straight Flight Out (upwind)
3. Half Reverse Cuban Eight
4. Straight Flight Back (downwind)
5. Stall Turn w/o Rolls (upwind)
6. Immelmann Turn (upwind)
7. Split "S"
8. Three Inside Loops (upwind)
9. One Horizontal Roll (downwind)
10. Landing (upwind)

I'm assuming you can do 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, and 10 already, so, begin with one you don't know and add it to your pattern.

VP
Viper Pilot is offline Find More Posts by Viper Pilot
Old Apr 15, 2002, 09:52 PM
Hobby Hopper
Issaquah, Wa, USA
Joined Apr 2002
229 Posts