Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio

From The Lab September 1997

Steve does electric flight East Asian style.

OK, what happened to 'From the Lab'? Business (yes, I do work for a living) has taken me exactly halfway around the world to Singapore and Malaysia, which are about 12,000 miles from my lab. This column is being written in Singapore, where I met up with fellow EFLIGHT subscribers and electric modelers Allan Teo and K.C. Tsang. I had previously exchanged emails with both, without ever thinking that one day we would meet face to face. The Electric Flight community may be spread very thin, but it is a small world, courtesy of the Internet. It was very nice to meet up with fellow modelers so far from home.

There are not a lot of modelers in this city of 3.2 million, and very few electric flight modelers - perhaps 10 or 15 out of 400 RC modelers. Nonetheless, our hobby seems to show up everywhere. For those of you who do not get to see the E-Zone web server statistics, let me assure you that our readership is very international, with web site hits from around the world.

Before arriving in the Orient, I had emailed Allan to let him know (approximately) when I would be arriving in Singapore. Getting to Allan's house was a rather interesting trip, which included exchanging my westbound-via-Japan tickets for eastbound-via-Holland ones, and eventually walking across the Malaysia-Singapore border because I could not find either a taxi or even the right place to buy a bus ticket. Actually, it could have even been more complicated if I had found a 'teksi', but I did find a very helpful taxi driver in Singapore, who was actually able to find Allan's house with little more than an address - and accepted foreign currency - try that in a US taxi!