Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 24, 2005, 03:41 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
2 Posts
FMS: Exception EComPort...

FMS 2.0 Alpha 8.5 on computer without serial port crashes with following error:

Application Error
Exception EComPort in module FMS.exe at 0008AFEC. Registry error (win error code: 2).
You can see solution there.
sulkul is offline Find More Posts by sulkul
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 29, 2009, 11:01 AM
Specializing in RC since 1972
Temple, GA, USA
Joined Jun 2009
3,132 Posts
FMS fixes for WIndows XP and Vista

The link in the previous post is gone. Here is what you need.

Read the file Readme.txt.

Please reply if this works for you or if you have problems, so others can benefit.

Here are fixes necessary to get FMS to run on XP, Vista (32 or 64), or Windows 7 (32 or 64).

FMS.BAT and FMS-ECOMPORT-FIX.REG are necessary for Windows XP.

FMS-VISTA.BAT, FMS-ECOMPORT-FIX.REG, and D3DRM.DLL (a file from Windows XP) are necessary for Windows Vista (or later) 64 (I think).

FMS.BAT, FMS-ECOMPORT-FIX.REG, and D3DRM.DLL (a file from Windows XP) are necessary for Windows Vista (or later) 32 (I think).

Read the file Readme.txt.

Edit: added untested Easy Star models for download.

Cliff
theothercliff is offline Find More Posts by theothercliff
Last edited by theothercliff; Jan 08, 2010 at 01:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2009, 04:41 PM
Where the Robots Roam
United States, FL, Fort Lauderdale
Joined Dec 2007
286 Posts
theothercliff,

Any solution using FMS on a Windows 7 OS PC and an Nvidia video card?

FMS works fine on my XP OS and Nvidia video card, but I get a flashing/flipping display when used on Windows 7 with an Nvidia video card. Turning off "texture" stops the flashing/flipping but makes for a crummy display.

Regards,
TCIII
TCIII is offline Find More Posts by TCIII
Last edited by TCIII; Dec 29, 2009 at 06:27 PM. Reason: Can't spell any longer!
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2009, 10:19 AM
Bit-Twiddler and Flyer
USA, VA, Chantilly
Joined Apr 2002
1,668 Posts
Flashing is a known problem documented on the FMS Forum.

You need to modify the scenery and drop the size of the bottom image to something that cannot be displayed. 1x1 or something a few pixels off of the original so it will not display.

I believe this is only a problem with Nvidia graphics cards. Check the forum.

-- ggunners
ggunners is offline Find More Posts by ggunners
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 30, 2009, 06:56 PM
Where the Robots Roam
United States, FL, Fort Lauderdale
Joined Dec 2007
286 Posts
ggunners,

Thanks for the tip. Much appreciated.

Regards,
TCIII
TCIII is offline Find More Posts by TCIII
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 10:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
1 Posts
works good

I'm using windows XP and the BAT + REG fixed the problem

Thanks
yoramlevy is offline Find More Posts by yoramlevy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2010, 02:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
4 Posts
Dear All,

I have just received my own maiden! I am novice and do not want to harm her due to the lack of practice. I have installed the included FSM simulator software and everything works fine except one thing: I do not know how to switch of mixing in the RC transmitter. I tried to re-calibrate it with both windows and the program, but if I move the right joystick, both Ch1 and Ch2 is active (mixing). Please, help! I need training!!!

Thanks,
Darel
darel is offline Find More Posts by darel
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2010, 01:55 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
4 Posts
FSM Mixing

I have received help from Marcello:

"There is a switch that controls the elevon mixing on the radio, but it was covered with the sticker "face" of the tranmitter (the film that says ArtTech and has other things printed. You should be able to feel the covered hole to the left of the leftmost "reverse" switch. Just open the film so you can access it and change the position. Remember to return it to mixing before flying!"

Thank you very much for this fast help.

By the way, the USB Controller work very well even with HAWX.

Darel
darel is offline Find More Posts by darel
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools