SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old May 10, 2005, 04:04 PM
Vince Armato
Katy, Texas
Joined Jun 2004
181 Posts
Saito 82 Fuel/Oil/Exhaust Nipple - Which one?

I'm a bit new to four strokes and I recently purchased a Saito 82. Can somebody tell me what this nipple is for that is just behind the prop on the bottom of the crankshaft?
varmato is offline Find More Posts by varmato
to remove ads between posts
Old May 10, 2005, 04:21 PM
Non-Discriminatory User
Joined Mar 2003
1,741 Posts
I believe that is the fuel pressure outlet, whereas on some engines it attaches to the muffler. FWIW
Lightnin is offline Find More Posts by Lightnin
Old May 10, 2005, 04:28 PM
Fife, Scotland
Joined Apr 2005
16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by varmato
I'm a bit new to four strokes and I recently purchased a Saito 82. Can somebody tell me what this nipple is for that is just behind the prop on the bottom of the crankshaft?
That's the oil drain from crankcase. Put a short length of tube on it to direct oil mist away from aeroplane - you'll be astounded at the amount of oil that comes out. All perfectly normal.
Category 5 is offline Find More Posts by Category 5
Old May 10, 2005, 04:31 PM
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,520 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lightnin
I believe that is the fuel pressure outlet, whereas on some engines it attaches to the muffler. FWIW
Nope it is not! That is the crankcase vent. You can attach a tube to keep the excess oil off the plane, but it won't pressurize your fuel tank.

Mike
pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Old May 10, 2005, 04:47 PM
Vince Armato
Katy, Texas
Joined Jun 2004
181 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Category 5
That's the oil drain from crankcase. Put a short length of tube on it to direct oil mist away from aeroplane - you'll be astounded at the amount of oil that comes out. All perfectly normal.
Yuck. That seems a bit crappy of a design. Any hints other than the length of tube?