HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 04, 2005, 02:18 PM
USA, IN, Greenwood
Joined May 2002
342 Posts
Ornithopter Plans

Hi, Im very new to this thread. I had seen the posted plan for the Freebird, built it, and, it flys! My 5y/o boy(and wife) got the biggest kick out of it. It took a bit of work to trim for longest smoothest flight, but I managed about 5-7 seconds , maybe a second more with the glide. I noticed late, that the wings "buzz" more than flap.
Does anybody have any idea where to find more free plans, rubber power or other wise. Im thinking I may even try a motor powered freeflight Ornithopter.
has anyone ever scaled up the Freebird?
thanks,
Mark
Greenwood, Indiana
mcrabby311 is offline Find More Posts by mcrabby311
to remove ads between posts
Old May 04, 2005, 05:53 PM
Zach
Illinois
Joined Feb 2004
806 Posts
Ok here are some plans Iíve found over the years.

The first link has plans for 5 ornithopters, scroll down to the bottom of the page.
http://www.ornithopter.org/indoor.shtml

This plan is from the October 1935 issue of Model Airplane News.
http://www.theplanpage.com/Months/2105/flapper.htm

This is a link to a thread that has a pdf. file with 4 interesting plans.
http://www.ornithopter.org/forum/showthread.php?t=34

The Spencer Orniplane http://www.ornithopter.org/orniplane.shtml

You can find some drawings on Patriciaís site. It has the drawings of her Behemoth 4,
And John Mackís ďfull sizeĒ dragonflys.
http://www.ornithopter-pilot.com/Orn...27s_Forum.html

3 plans are available on Yohei Takatani site. Click on the picture to view the plan.
http://homepage1.nifty.com/akatombo/e-product.html
There used to be plans on this site for the dragonfly 1 as well, I canít seem to find it though. I know it can be found somewhere. I actuialy built one of these, it did fly, but my version came in overweight, still have it.

There are more plans out there. I can picture one or two more clearly in my mind but canít remember where in the web they are.