HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 27, 2005, 02:24 PM
www.beatyourtruck.com
Joined Mar 2005
10 Posts
Question
duraplanes VS. us. air core plane

I am fairly new to the hobby I have flown a few elctrics and can fly them ok I really want to get into gas planes I want to buy a an idestructable as my first trainer i am looking at the duraplanes .40 and US aircore trainer I saw both on tower hobbies and love the looks of the US aircore plane but i dont know wich is more durable any advice or recomendations for other trainers would be nice

thanks
gangstabunny is offline Find More Posts by gangstabunny
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 28, 2005, 07:18 AM
Horizon
Nashville, TN
Joined Feb 2005
59 Posts
Well I have the duraplane .20 trainer, flying it with a .40. I have had many great flights with it but the fuse is real bendy in the air, the tail is always lagging behind the rest of the plane. Durable? absolutely, crashed it a half dozen times and its still flight ready. As far as the US Aircore I believe those are coroplast, you can get a ARF spad from ebay for about 30 bucks compared to 150. Or get a Sig Four Star if you are ready to leave your trainer behind, I love mine very nice plane.

hope this helps
hekili is offline Find More Posts by hekili
Old Apr 28, 2005, 07:30 AM
dusty bible = dirty life
Oklahoma City OK USA Where fakts still exist even if they are ignored
Joined Aug 2000
2,770 Posts
If you can fly an electric and make good landings then there is no need for a crash proof airplane.

I've been teaching folks to fly RC for 6 years now, and my experiance with the duraplane airplanes is that they are not good primary trainers because they're just too heavy and fast. The Aircore plane is acceptable but it's really not any more durable than a Sig Kadet, which, I highly reccomend as a first built up plane.

HTH
T
Majortomski is offline Find More Posts by Majortomski
Old Apr 28, 2005, 11:15 AM
Denver, CO
Joined Jan 2005
545 Posts