HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 23, 2005, 01:19 AM
Africa
Joined Jan 2005
1,119 Posts
FIBAFILM by solarfilm

Does anyone know anything about fibafilm. I bought a few rolls last week. I've never used it before & am about to with a 30'' span FF power model. Any words of advice?
Snorks is offline Find More Posts by Snorks
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 24, 2005, 04:57 PM
Cheshire England
Joined Apr 2004
41 Posts
Hi. Snorks.
I have used a fair bit of Fibafilm and have found it very good. light and reasonably tough and looks like well doped Tissue. It has no adhesive coating and so an adhesive has to be applied to the framework. balslock is the adhesive made for it which is heat activated when dry.
the covering should be applied with the grain running spanwise and lengthways on the fuselage. Like tissue you must work out all the wrinkles and get the film as tight as possible as there is not too much shrinkage when heat is applied. I do not use a heat gun on Fibafilm, only a teflon coated covering iron. Persevere, the effort is worth it.
Here is a picture of a model covered in Fibafilm. Sorry I know it isn't Vintage.
Norman M.
Norman M is offline Find More Posts by Norman M
Old Apr 24, 2005, 08:58 PM
FLYER spelled I-squared-R
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Joined Sep 2001
1,623 Posts
Is FibaFilm the same as MicaFilm (in US)?
fliir is offline Find More Posts by fliir
Old Apr 25, 2005, 12:25 PM
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Mar 2000
1,129 Posts
Fibafilm and Micafilm are same thing. I actually ordered Fibafilm from Balsapr and a couple of the rolls were labelled as Micafilm
JeffD is offline Find More Posts by JeffD
Old Apr 26, 2005, 11:20 AM
Africa
Joined Jan 2005
1,119 Posts
Thanks boys, I'll let you know how I get on with it.
Snorks is offline Find More Posts by Snorks
Old Apr 26, 2005, 11:54 AM
FLYER spelled I-squared-R
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Joined Sep 2001
1,623 Posts