Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 18, 2011, 12:51 AM
Registered User
himagain's Avatar
United Kingdom, South York
Joined Aug 2002
254 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jointer View Post
I have 4 these units, any idea if they can be connected in series easily?
DC ungrounding preferred.
I did not looked inside yet, is there any pot for voltage adjustment?
Thanks.


Not sure as ive not tested it, you must make sure that the negative and case are not common to earth or you will effectivly short it out via the earth wire on the mains supply.

Maybe NYDI can comment on this as he's making a 24v unit

David
himagain is offline Find More Posts by himagain
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 31, 2011, 09:18 PM
Joe from New England
pete236's Avatar
United States, MA, Beverly
Joined Apr 2011
8 Posts
Finished yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nydi View Post
Here my solution for 2 ESP 113 in serie (not yet completed...)

Fix the power supply with plastic bolts, so you isolate the ground to the case.

The AC ground (110/230V) you can connect with the case...
I've just gotten a few of these HP PS and was wondering if you had finished it yet?
pete236 is offline Find More Posts by pete236
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 11:36 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
1 Posts
Any ideas, how to make the fan slower?

for the DPS600PB you can connect PIN4 to ground and the the noise would be fine

but what with the ESP113? is there a choice?
bigbomb is offline Find More Posts by bigbomb
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 06, 2011, 10:58 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2009
12 Posts
Hello,

Does some one know how much cooling these server PS need??
I want to disable the stock fan. And put the PS in a closed box with a 12cm normal PC fan. Would that be enough? So it looks almost like a normal Computer PS.

And does some one know what normal operating temp. are?

gr,

Freemann
freemann is offline Find More Posts by freemann
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 06:44 AM
Registered User
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague
Joined Oct 2010
205 Posts
The right pot controls the output voltage.
With PS control pins connected to ground as suggested here, turning the pot counter-clockwise upped the output voltage to 13.2-13.25V.
The purpose of the left pot is unknown to me yet, it seems not to be overvoltage protection, because moving at no load did not made the PS to shutdown.
Could it be current limit?
jointer is offline Find More Posts by jointer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 05:06 PM
Registered User
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague
Joined Oct 2010
205 Posts
Okay, the unit was switching off at 13.25V, it seems it is working at 13V.
The left pot could be OverCurrent Protection.
Turning it far left allowed me to push the PS very hard, i took 42A/12.8V with my charger for 2 minutes (without cooling).
That is almost 540W, enough stress test.
Turning it right was making the PS to shut down early.
Hope it will help someone.
jointer is offline Find More Posts by jointer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2011, 03:17 PM
Registered User
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague
Joined Oct 2010
205 Posts
Two other units.
These did not liked voltage near 13V (switching off), so they are around 12.86V at no load, both tested independently at 38A continuous load.
Images - front, rear with Y cable with switch.

For DC side ungrounding, 2 front screws must be isolated from case.
Seems to work.
jointer is offline Find More Posts by jointer
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 07:25 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2006
20 Posts
By front screws do you mean the 2 screws under the fan?
Cryofix is offline Find More Posts by Cryofix
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 04:33 AM
Registered User
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague
Joined Oct 2010
205 Posts
The 2 screws from 4, which hold the PCB to case, near output/fan.
Isolating them unground the PS on DC side.
If anyone will be doing it, you should of course test it with multimeter.
jointer is offline Find More Posts by jointer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 11:25 AM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,654 Posts
Quote:
I want to disable the stock fan. And put the PS in a closed box with a 12cm normal PC fan.
Many if not most will not operate without the fan(s) connected. Several have placed resistors in line with the fan's power lead to reduce fan speed.
everydayflyer is online now Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 12:09 PM
Got Thermals???
Fishjunky's Avatar
United States, UT, Roy
Joined Apr 2008
5,206 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jointer View Post
The 2 screws from 4, which hold the PCB to case, near output/fan.
Isolating them unground the PS on D/C side.
If anyone will be doing it, you should of course test it with multimeter.
By isolating the DC side you eliminate the need to lift one of the A/C grounds, correct?

I will be sure to test the continuity, but want to make sure I understand what to do on the A/C side.
Fishjunky is online now Find More Posts by Fishjunky
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 03:11 PM
Registered User
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague
Joined Oct 2010
205 Posts
By ungrounding on DC side, you need no changes on AC side.
Read the forum here, there are threads about safety and what to do.
Some are long.
There are some risks - you need to know what you are doing, at least in some amount.
jointer is offline Find More Posts by jointer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 05:28 PM
Got Thermals???
Fishjunky's Avatar
United States, UT, Roy
Joined Apr 2008
5,206 Posts
I have read quite a bit on the ungrounding from the AC side, but hadn't seen much info on ungrounding the DC side. Do you have a particular thread you are referring to? I will continue to read before making any supplies myself.

Thank you for the input and for the tests you've done so far.
Fishjunky is online now Find More Posts by Fishjunky
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 05:43 PM
Registered User
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague
Joined Oct 2010
205 Posts
You can find it - as i did and choose to do it on DC side.
Deep in the 100A power supply thread, i think.
Or in the sticky...
Lot to read.
jointer is offline Find More Posts by jointer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 11:24 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
1 Posts
Hi, I am a Ham Radio Operator and use this PSU for my Radio, max 22 Amps.
But I need 13,8 volt. If I turn up the voltage higher as 12,75 volt the PSU switches off or goes in Standby. Probably the voltage over protection circuit is doing that.
Has someone a idea how to change that?
Greetings from the Netherlands, Ben - PA2OLD
PE1IEI is offline Find More Posts by PE1IEI
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion PC power supply need help youth must fly Batteries and Chargers 45 Feb 01, 2007 04:19 PM
Got a new 2.5amp wall Power Supply, Need Help! Suntzu Batteries and Chargers 24 Dec 15, 2004 04:51 PM
2 charger with 1 power supply..need help VR6 Batteries and Chargers 2 Sep 04, 2003 11:33 AM
Computer Power Supply Probs - Help!!! indyrcpilot Batteries and Chargers 4 Feb 16, 2003 10:11 PM
Question power supply recommendations... HELP torcgolf Batteries and Chargers 30 Nov 15, 2002 02:17 AM