HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 11, 2005, 08:16 AM
Registered User
bamm's Avatar
Planet Jupiter
Joined Jan 2005
1,746 Posts
Question
Will this motor work with shockyflyers

Hi, I ordered this motor http://www.aircraft-world.com/prod_d...ts/cdmotor.htm and was hoping someone has this motor or knows something about it. I want to know if this motor can fly and hover a Shockflyer or a Shocky Yak 54, with a 2cell Kokam 340mah pack CC10 . I want a super light wieght airplane, an indoor flyer only

And if its to small for those planes then does anybody have any plans for a downsized Shockflyer?

Thanks Dan Warner
bamm is offline Find More Posts by bamm
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 11, 2005, 09:46 AM
Registered User
College Station, TX USA
Joined Dec 2003
1,811 Posts
It's a bit small, 6x4 prop??? 188 grams in torque??? I would look at this:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ni+Shockflyers
I have one with a Little Screamers on it, comes in at 4.5 onces ready to fly with a 2 cell 340, 3 Cirrus 4.4 servos, it does great, but it flys a little fast, tons of power!
This would be more in the range in that motor, unless I am reading something wrong. I personally like the Mini Superstar, there is the Cap too. It is a 24" WS.
Keep'em Flying,
Nick
Nick Maxwell is offline Find More Posts by Nick Maxwell
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 09:51 AM
Registered User
heliguy1232's Avatar
Dallas Texas
Joined Dec 2004
686 Posts
Ya It looks a little small. good luck.
heliguy1232 is offline Find More Posts by heliguy1232
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 01:09 PM
Registered User
IsToR's Avatar
Stockholm, Sweden
Joined Aug 2004
341 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamm
Hi, I ordered this motor http://www.aircraft-world.com/prod_d...ts/cdmotor.htm and was hoping someone has this motor or knows something about it. I want to know if this motor can fly and hover a Shockflyer or a Shocky Yak 54, with a 2cell Kokam 340mah pack CC10 . I want a super light wieght airplane, an indoor flyer only

And if its to small for those planes then does anybody have any plans for a downsized Shockflyer?

Thanks Dan Warner
I've had two of them. They're actually great motors! Just run them on 3s and an APC 8x3.8 SF and you'll get more than enough thrust. Don't even bother with 2s since it cannot turn bigger props than 8" (so max thrust on 2s is about 200 grams). I had a micro bipe with that motor, weight was about 180 grams, and it had blistering vertical I can tell you!! It was absolutely insane! a low pass, hit the elevator, and it went straight up like a missile! Flight times were about 10 minutes of nothing but hovering on a 3s E-Tec 450 SHP.

You should look at the APEX 300 though, it has the same stator but much stronger magnets and thicker bell (=more efficient). Same weight and almost the same price too.
IsToR is offline Find More Posts by IsToR
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 02:26 PM
Registered User
College Station, TX USA
Joined Dec 2003
1,811 Posts
Oh, sorry Bamm, I was wrong...sounds like a great motor for a Shocky! Good Luck!
Keep'em Flying,
Nick
Nick Maxwell is offline Find More Posts by Nick Maxwell
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 02:52 PM
Registered User
bamm's Avatar
Planet Jupiter
Joined Jan 2005
1,746 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IsToR
I've had two of them. They're actually great motors! Just run them on 3s and an APC 8x3.8 SF and you'll get more than enough thrust. Don't even bother with 2s since it cannot turn bigger props than 8" (so max thrust on 2s is about 200 grams). I had a micro bipe with that motor, weight was about 180 grams, and it had blistering vertical I can tell you!! It was absolutely insane! a low pass, hit the elevator, and it went straight up like a missile! Flight times were about 10 minutes of nothing but hovering on a 3s E-Tec 450 SHP.

You should look at the APEX 300 though, it has the same stator but much stronger magnets and thicker bell (=more efficient). Same weight and almost the same price too.

So a 3cell won't fry the motor?
bamm is offline Find More Posts by bamm
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 05:04 PM
Registered User
ryanl2006's Avatar
Ames, Iowa
Joined Oct 2002
2,495 Posts
Amps kills motors not volts. As long as you stay within the max amps you could use 5s if you wanted.
ryanl2006 is offline Find More Posts by ryanl2006
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 05:20 PM
Registered User
bamm's Avatar
Planet Jupiter
Joined Jan 2005
1,746 Posts
What if I use a CC10 will that work with three cell?
bamm is offline Find More Posts by bamm
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 05:24 PM
40%, 5% whats the diff?
TeamSME's Avatar
Baltimore Greenbelt, Maryland, United States
Joined Jul 2003
1,341 Posts
Huge industrial AC motors use high voltages up to 550 volts to lower amperages.

The theory is to go down a prop size for 3 Cell and up a prop size for 2 cell.
So 8x3.4 for a 3cell and a 9x4.7 for a 2 cell. Just an example.

Yes it will work, voltage doesnt matter its amps like ryans said.
TeamSME is offline Find More Posts by TeamSME
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 05:27 PM
Registered User
bamm's Avatar
Planet Jupiter
Joined Jan 2005
1,746 Posts
So whats best for a Mini Shocky 2cell or 3cell?
bamm is offline Find More Posts by bamm
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 05:31 PM
Registered User
ryanl2006's Avatar
Ames, Iowa
Joined Oct 2002
2,495 Posts
3 cell is better in my opinion. Its easier on the motor, and you can use thinner wires all around, and it will actually turn out lighter if you do it right.
ryanl2006 is offline Find More Posts by ryanl2006
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 05:34 PM
Registered User
College Station, TX USA
Joined Dec 2003
1,811 Posts
I use 2 and 3 cell. 2 cell for indoor "goofing", and 3cell for outdoors and "serious" flying indoors. With the 2 cell, you can go to a higher mAh for a longer flight time. And not gain any wieght, they both have a lot of power! I would recommend the 2 cell at a lower mAh- like 340-450, my 2 cell is 700, but it is outstanding!
Keep'em Flying,
Nick
Nick Maxwell is offline Find More Posts by Nick Maxwell
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 05:39 PM
Registered User
bamm's Avatar
Planet Jupiter
Joined Jan 2005
1,746 Posts
I am prabably going to get 2 Kokam packs, 1 a 2cell 2nd 3cell
bamm is offline Find More Posts by bamm
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 06:56 PM
Registered User
College Station, TX USA
Joined Dec 2003
1,811 Posts
Are you planning on the 340's, I think those are the best for this size motor, the Thunder Power 2 cell and 3 cells 730's are great too. I am using 3 cell 450 Etecs, and 340 3 cell Kokams both with great success, 2 cell is a Etec 700. Are you planning on building a Mini Shocky from the Stringfly plans??
Keep'em Flying,
Nick
Nick Maxwell is offline Find More Posts by Nick Maxwell
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 07:27 PM
Registered User
bamm's Avatar
Planet Jupiter
Joined Jan 2005
1,746 Posts
Right now I am planning on building the mini Superstar. But if HL uses the Kokam packs on the big shockflyers won't that be heavy for the mini?
bamm is offline Find More Posts by bamm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Will this motor work to 3d with Flatana north dakota kid Power Systems 6 Jul 07, 2006 10:13 PM
Will this ECS work with this motor? blk96gt Power Systems 3 Feb 23, 2005 07:47 PM
Will this motor work in the Graupner Mini-piper ? ViperR Foamies (Kits) 0 Sep 09, 2002 10:00 PM
Question Will this motor work with this plane??? raythomas Parkflyers 10 Jan 02, 2002 08:06 PM
Yippee! will this radio work with any of the micro receivers? jayboy Parkflyers 4 Jan 02, 2002 07:33 PM