HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 02, 2002, 02:40 AM
Int'l Slope Observer
Fremont, CA
Joined Oct 2001
1,887 Posts
Anyone Ever Make a Bigger Wing for the DAW Dragonette?

I'm delighted with my DAW Dragonette Micro HLG. I've been flying it now for about a month and I think I'm finally starting to understand how to get good flights with it. I just love the small size of the plane -- especially with my modified bolt-on wing. This thing packs into a really small area

In terms of getting acclimated to this plane, it was a bit of a transition from my DAW Schweizer 1-26 2-meter. I guess I kind of missed having ailerons ;-)

So now I'm having fun with this little plane, but I keep having this nagging notion in the back of my mind that maybe it would stick a bit better if I could build a new poly wing for it that has a greater wingspan. Maybe something like 42" or so.

I'm not a designer -- just a beginner pilot, so I really don't know if any of this is aerodynamically feasible. All I know is that I think the Dragonette feels more like a light lift sloper than a sailplane. Looking at it, it appears to have a much smaller wingspan to fuse lenght aspect ration than typical sailplanes.

If anyone has any thoughts or experience on this subject, I would love hearing from you.

Happy Flying ;-)

webguyjv
webguyjv is offline Find More Posts by webguyjv
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 21, 2002, 09:17 AM
Bradbury, Australia
Joined Mar 2002
159 Posts
dragonette..?

have been considering buying a dragonette. but after reading your thread am curious as to its efficiency as a HLG with the stock wing lenghth.what was the AUW of your model.are they easy to put together.what flight times were you getting with a hand launch?....regards freebird.
freebird is offline Find More Posts by freebird
Old Apr 21, 2002, 12:55 PM
Int'l Slope Observer
Fremont, CA
Joined Oct 2001
1,887 Posts
Hello Freebird ;-)