SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 10, 2006, 04:41 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
18,111 Posts
ggouveia,
I don't use a flight battery. I hooked up a UBEC (from Hobby-Lobby). It connects to the battery leads of the ESC, reduce the voltage down to 5V and then plugs into the Rx. When doing this you need to disable the BEC from the ESC by removing the red wire from the connector. I just fold my red wire over itself and secure with heat shrink. This way I can always hook it back up if needed. My UBEC is rated for 3-5 amps which is more than enough for the servos.

Feathermerchant,
I don't doubt the newer single conversion Rxs are better. After many problems with 'older' ones I've pretty much sworn myself away from them (well, I do have 3 JR/Expert ones that I use). Of course I still get glitches at times with my dual conversions, but I expect it'll happen as long as I keep using the 72Mhz. Hopefully my Evo will be upgradable to 2.4G one day as the technology improves and is proven for larger/longer range type aircraft.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 10, 2006, 05:18 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2005
94 Posts
Thanks guys for the help. Hope to get a chance to try suggestions out this week,but its been raining in Sydney for the last couple of days.
ggouveia is offline Find More Posts by ggouveia
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2006, 06:20 AM
RIP Ric
Andy W's Avatar
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts
I had issues today at a fun fly where all of my models, except one, were getting glitches on my frequency. I even tried someone else's transmitter to ensure it wasn't my EVO. My models have different brands of Rx's in them, all good quality. The only model I could fly was my Corona heli, which has the old Berg 6-channel in it..
..a
Andy W is offline Find More Posts by Andy W
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2006, 05:28 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Kettering
Joined Aug 2003
26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy W
Hope your antenna isn't inside the fuselage - the carbon would mask the radio signal..
..a
We have a guy at our field just bought one of these which glitches like mad. The aerial exits out of the top of the fuselage just behind the wing and is attached to front edge of the stab.

It got so bad he swapped the entire flightpack/motor/controller from another glider and it still glitches. From memory it is currently 3s lipo Castle creations 60A controller and a Tornado inrunner brushless (not sure of exact model no.) and Futaba dual conversion ppm rx.

Now the thing is if we hold the aerial at right angles away from the body there is no glitching, as soon as it lays near it there is.

His supplier told him it was due to static build up - of which I am not convinced.

Anyone else experienced this?

cheers

Bob
rbutt is offline Find More Posts by rbutt
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2006, 05:39 AM
RIP Ric
Andy W's Avatar
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts
Nope.

I'd be looking at switching to a different Rx..
..a
Andy W is offline Find More Posts by Andy W
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2006, 08:36 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
18,111 Posts
I've not had a similar problem with my Siren. I've heard of static build-up on heli's with belt driven tail rotors. Grounding the boom to the negative side of the battery was supposed to eliminate the problem. I guess you could do the same with the Siren.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 19, 2006, 10:53 PM
EMFSO, CRS, MAAC
Peter Mar's Avatar
Toronto, Ontario
Joined Oct 1999
363 Posts
ggouveia:

My Berg 5 (1st Gen) also glitches. The prop spins up and acts like a brake until signal is regained. It was really annoying so I switched to an early Gen FMA Quantum and then the glitches became fewer. Most flights had none unless I pointed the ant at the plane.

I am using an early CC P35, pre link ESC on a geared Mega 1615 7.

My receiver is in the same spot. I tried twisting the ESC to RX leads to reduce RF impacts but it hasn't worked nearly as well as changing to the dual conv Rxs.

Peter
Peter Mar is offline Find More Posts by Peter Mar
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2007, 11:59 PM
oceanside, ca
a67676767's Avatar
oceanside, ca
Joined Mar 2006
212 Posts
Link to manual is broken

Link to manual is broken .. should be :

http://www.electrifly.com/manuals/gpma1065-manual.pdf
a67676767 is offline Find More Posts by a67676767
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2007, 04:51 AM
RIP Ric
Andy W's Avatar
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts
I've asked the editor to change it. Looked like GP moved the manuals..
..a
Andy W is offline Find More Posts by Andy W
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2007, 01:04 PM
oceanside, ca
a67676767's Avatar
oceanside, ca
Joined Mar 2006
212 Posts
Thanks .. good review .. I have a 3S LIPO and a Permax 400BL that I am looking for a home for. I want to put it in a smaller a hotliner-type model and thought this may be a good fit but I am thinking that it is nowhere near enough power.
a67676767 is offline Find More Posts by a67676767
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2007, 01:15 PM
RIP Ric
Andy W's Avatar
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts
400W is enough - what can you squeeze out of that motor?
..a
Andy W is offline Find More Posts by Andy W
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2007, 01:27 PM
oceanside, ca
a67676767's Avatar
oceanside, ca
Joined Mar 2006
212 Posts
it only says 250 W .. http://www.multiplexusa.com/product_fs.htm
a67676767 is offline Find More Posts by a67676767
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2007, 06:09 AM
RIP Ric
Andy W's Avatar
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts
Yeah, and that's a maximum.

I wouldn't do it. I'd look for something smaller for that motor.
..a
Andy W is offline Find More Posts by Andy W
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2007, 07:34 AM
BANNED!!!
soholingo's Avatar
Laurel, MD
Joined May 2001
12,686 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by a67676767
Thanks .. good review .. I have a 3S LIPO and a Permax 400BL that I am looking for a home for. I want to put it in a smaller a hotliner-type model and thought this may be a good fit but I am thinking that it is nowhere near enough power.
Is that with the gearbox? If so, then you will have a nice flying plane. Otherwise, put it on a flying wing. 250 watts is plenty. I was going to use the 480BL 6g 4.4:1 and the only reason I didn't is because it was easier to mount the AXI 2826/x .

I am hoping to put the same motor in the bandit.
soholingo is offline Find More Posts by soholingo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2007, 12:59 PM
oceanside, ca
a67676767's Avatar
oceanside, ca
Joined Mar 2006
212 Posts
cool .. thanks guys .. I will look for something else for that gear. It doesn't have a gearbox on the 400BL. A wing might be nice as soholingo said.
a67676767 is offline Find More Posts by a67676767
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Great Planes Wright Flyer ARF Review Michael Heer Parkflyers 22 Feb 15, 2010 02:42 PM
Sold Great Planes Siren Hotliner ARF Steve H. Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 1 Sep 13, 2006 03:28 AM
Sold Great Planes Siren Hotliner Sailplane glide Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 6 Oct 08, 2005 01:20 AM
Sold Great Planes Siren Hotliner EP ARF 79" (NIB) trw43 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Oct 03, 2005 07:20 PM
Great planes siren?? Hotliner or warmliner? argarre Electric Sailplanes 3 Sep 01, 2004 08:16 PM